Chesterton Tribune



Appointments named for Porter town boards; Stinson is president

Back To Front Page



Greg Stinsonís new colleagues on the Porter Town Council elected him as their president for 2016.

The Council, with four new members, met for the first time on Tuesday night. Vice-president for 2016 will be Erik Wagner. Stinson and Wagner are two of the Councilís four Democrat members. Ross LeBleu and William Lopez are the other two Dems. Tim Conroy is the sole Republican member.

All current department heads will keep their roles, the Council decided. Council liaison appointments include Conroy for the Police Department, Lopez for the Fire Department, LeBleu for the Parks Department and Stinson for Town Hall.

The Council named Joe Simanski and Jeannine Virtue as their appointments to the Townís Redevelopment Commission. Stinson selected Lopez, LeBleu and Wagner as his presidential appointments.

The Councilís representative to the Police Commission will be Elka Nelson.

Stinson said his appointment to the Plan Commission will be Amy Waechter-Versaw who will dually serve on the Board of Zoning Appeals for four-year terms.

Stinson said he will decide the replacement for Wagnerís citizen appointment on the Plan Commission later at the next Council meetings as he wishes to continue talking to two candidates. The term will be for two years to finish out a four-year term.

Wagner was however chosen Tuesday to be one of the Councilís appointments on the Plan Commission for a new term. The other two appointments are Police Chief Jamie Spanier and Public Works Director Brenda Brueckheimer, who have also served on the Commission in the past. ďThat will provide a lot of cohesion,Ē Stinson said.

Stinson reappointed John Kremke as his presidential appointment on the BZA.

Lopez will be Stinsonís appointment to the Stormwater Board. The boardís two Republican members will be returning, Stinson said.

Stinson appointed himself to the Northern Indiana Regional Planning Commission and LeBleu to the Duneland Economic Development Company.

In other business, the Council voted unanimously to keep contracts with H.J. Umbaugh and Associates as the Townís financial advisor, Haas and Associates for engineering services, Jim Mandon for Town Planning Advisor and Innovative Test Solutions for computer programming.

CO ordinance bumped

In one bit of old business, the Council, under Stinsonís suggestion, postponed a second reading of the proposed ordinance to require carbon monoxide detectors to be installed in new and existing rental properties (multi-family dwellings, apartments, rooming houses) new single-family homes, dwellings above business properties, hotels, motels, and trailer homes.

Because of additions and an amendment to require owners of these properties to submit carbon monoxide detector reports by Jan. 31, the same as smoke detector reports, to the Fire Dept., Stinson said the ordinance should be renumbered with the date as 2016 and heard again.

A revised ordinance is expected by the Councilís next meeting on Jan. 26 for the its consideration.

Stinson said that current single-family home owners will not be affected by the ordinance. Once the ordinance is enacted, all new construction for dwelling units will be required to have a carbon monoxide detector installed. All current rental properties must install and report on detectors annually to the Town, he said.

Smoke detectors

During reports from department heads, Fire Chief Lewis Craig asked that landlords remember to complete the forms for smoke detectors by Jan. 31.

In other reports, Parks Director Brian Bugajski said the Frozen Feet 5k will be this Sunday, Jan. 17 starting at 9 a.m. in Hawthorne Park, starting at the Community Center. Registration is $25 and proceeds will benefit the Park Departmentís playground equipment fund.




Posted 1/14/2016




Search This Site:

Custom Search