Chesterton Tribune



New Chesterton Town Council organizes on New Years Day

Back To Front Page



Before a standing-room crowd on New Year’s Day, the Chesterton Town Council--with three newly minted members--met for the first time, to elect officers for 2020, assign liaisonships, and make board appointments.

Unanimously chosen president was Sharon Darnell, D-4th, who previously served four terms on the Town Council, after first being elected in 1999, prior to which she served three years on the Utility Service Board.

Chosen vice-president: Lloyd “Buck” Kittredge, R-2nd, who was unable to attend Wednesday’s organizational meeting.


Members then voted unanimously to assign and accept the following liaison positions:

--Jim Ton, R-1st: Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission.

--Kittredge: Building and Engineering departments; and Stormwater Utility.

--Bob Allison, D-3rd: Street Department and Police Commission.

--Darnell: Utility Service Board.

--Jennifer Fisher, I-5th: Fire Department and Park Board.

Department Heads

Members next voted unanimously to re-appoint all department heads.

Board Appointments

Finally, members made the following appointments:

--Advisory Plan Commission: Dan Marchetti (presidential, newly appointed); Sharon Darnell, Tom Kopko, and Jeff Trout (council, re-appointed).

--Board of Zoning Appeals: Joel Carney (council, newly appointed).

--Park Board: Wendy Marciniak (council, re-appointed).

--Utility Service Board: Larry Brandt and Scot McCord (council, re-appointed).

--Police Commission: Bob Aponte (council, newly appointed).

--Stormwater Management Board: Victoria Wittig (council, newly appointed).

--Redevelopment Commission: Jeff Trout (presidential, re-appointed); Jennifer Fisher and Lloyd Kittredge (presidential, newly appointed); Nick Walding (council, re-appointed); and Sharon Darnell (council, newly appointed).

--Tax Abatement Advisory Committee: Bob Allison (council, re-appointed); and Nate Cobbs, Cassi Hammar, Glenn Peterson, and Courtney Udvare (council, newly appointed).

--Economic Development Commission: Lloyd Kittredge (presidential, re-appointed).

--CEDC: Jim Ton (presidential, re-appointed); Rich Riley (council, re-appointed); and Courtney Udvare (council, newly appointed).

--Tree Committee: Stuart Franzen (council, re-appointed).

Oath of Office

At 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, 30 minutes before the new council held the first meeting of its administration, Town Attorney Chuck Lukmann administered the oath of office to Ton, Allison, Darnell, and Fisher; and to incoming Clerk-Treasurer Courtney Udvare.

The oath: “I do solemnly swear that I will support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Indiana, and that I will faithfully, impartially, and diligently discharge the duties of the office of Town Council Member, Chesterton, according to law and to the best of my ability.”

“The one thing you are not guaranteed is good government,” Lukmann noted before administering the oath. Good government, he said, depends on elected officials who act with the community’s best interests always in mind. “And I can assure you,” he added, “in Chesterton we have excellent leadership.”


Business done for the day, members took a moment at the end of the meeting to express their gratitude to those who attended the swearing-in ceremony and stayed for the meeting. “Thanks everybody for coming,” Allison said. “I hope we fill the meeting room to capacity every time. That’s my pipe dream.”

“I’d like to thank everyone for being here,” Ton said for his part. “I hope everybody has a great New Year and we look forward to a very productive 2020.”

“It’s certainly an honor and a privilege to serve the community and it’s also a responsibility,” Fisher said. “We look forward to serving you.”


Posted 1/2/2020




Search This Site:

Custom Search