Chesterton Tribune



Chesterton Town Council makes 2017 board appointments

Back To Front Page


The Chesterton Town Council made the following 2017 board appointments at its special meeting Tuesday evening.

Re-appointed to the Advisory Plan Commission: George Stone and Fred Owens.

Re-appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals: Jim Kowalski.

Re-appointed to the Utility Service Board: James Raffin and Scot McCord.

Re-appointed to the Stormwater Management Board: Park Superintendent Bruce Mathias.

Newly appointed to the Park Board: Candy Tucker, who succeeds long-time member Vincent Emanuele. Emanuele opted not to seek re-appointment

Newly appointed to the Police Commission: Timothy Scheerer, who succeeds Alex Rodriguez.

Re-appointed to the Redevelopment Commission: John Swibes, Jeff Trout, Nick Walding, and Council Member Emerson DeLaney, R-5th. Newly appointed: Council Member Dane Lafata, D-3rd, who succeeds Council Member Jim Ton, R-1st. Ton opted to step down.

Re-appointed to the Tax Abatement Advisory Committee: Dane Lafata, Robert Allison, Phoebe Jane House, and Clerk-Treasurer Stephanie Kuziela. Newly appointed: Neil Wiskneski, who succeeds Robert Poparad Jr.

Re-appointed to the Tree Committee: Stuart Franzen. Newly appointed--to complete Stephanie Kuziela’s unexpired term, through Dec. 31, 2017--Sidney Augustyn.

Re-nominated for Duneland’s seat on the Porter County Convention, Recreation, and Visitor Commission: Lisa Woodrich. At least two of the Tri-Towns’ councils must agree on the nomination. The Porter County Commissioners will make the actual appointment.

Correction: the Chesterton Tribune inadvertently left off the time of Tuesday’s meeting, in the advance the Tribune ran in the Friday, Dec. 23, edition.

In fact the council met at 6 p.m., not at its regular meeting time of 7 p.m.

The Trib regrets the mistake.



Posted 12/28/2016





Search This Site:

Custom Search