Chesterton Tribune



Trojan Wrestlers win 2nd straight Sectional Title

Back To Front Page



Step one is done.

The Chesterton wrestling team won its second consecutive IHSAA Sectional title at LaPorte on Saturday, but more importantly set themselves up to continue through the State Tournament.

“We didn’t look at it as the team winning as we went into today,” Chesterton coach Chris Joll said. “We looked at it as trying to get as many champs as we could. Our goal was to set us up for next weekend (Regional).”

The Trojans amassed 312.5 points to beat second place LaPorte (208.5). New Prairie finished third with 180.5 points.

“We knew we were the best team going in,” Joll said. “But, we wrestled pretty well. We beat some kids that had beat us before and beat some kids convincingly that were close matches before.”

Chesterton picked up nine individual champions on the day.

“I was very happy today,” Joll said. “We had a plan for each kid and they went out and executed it. They grinded out tough wins and pinned people.”

Victories in the finals by pin for the Trojans came from Steve Biancardi (126), Andrew Davison (182), Lucas Davison (195), Dan Mochen (220) and Dan Cutter (285).

“Things really couldn’t have gone much better,” Joll said. “In the past, we have had a tendency to get to the finals and not perform very well. We are being tough on top, getting out on the bottom and making takedowns.

“They are following the steps of wrestling we put down and let’s hope we can carry it into next weekend.”

Jack Tolin picked up a title at 132 by tech fall, while Troy Johnson (138), Cade Girgenti (145) and Diego Lemley (152) all won by decision.

“Troy (Johnson) is better than he thinks he is,” Joll said. “We had a talk about him just going out and wrestling. He’s reactions are pretty good when he’s out on the mat.”

The Trojans will send all 14 wrestlers to the IHSAA Crown Point Regional on Saturday. Wrestling begins at 9 a.m.

IHSAA Sectional


Team Results

1. Chesterton, 312.5; 2. LaPorte, 208.5; 3. New Prairie, 180.5; 4. LaVille, 153; 5. John Glenn, 137; 6. Knox, 127; 7. Michigan City, 96; 8. North Judson, 43.

Individual Results

(Top four finishers in each weight class advance to the Crown Point Regional)


106 - Kade Wagner (K) pin Brayden Ruiz (NP), 1:49. 113 - Jon Sipes (NP) pin David Mahaffey ©, 2:57. 120 - David Taylor (MC) dec. Skyler Gomez (LP), 10-9. 126 - Steve Biancardi © pin Anthony Lesniak (NP), 4:58. 132 - Jack Tolin © tech fall Braden Griffin (LP), 22-7. 138 - Troy Johnson © dec. Mason Lang (K), 12-2. 145 - Cade Girgenti © dec. Ronald Fisher (K), 19-8. 152 - Diego Lemley © dec. Colton Tanber (LP), 14-5. 160 - Tyler Schoff (LP) dec. Chizzell Crawford (MC), 5-4. 170 - Jack Krause (K) dec. Eli Pokorney ©, 3-2. 182 - Andrew Davison © pin Josh Bohling (LP), 1:21. 195 - Lucas Davison © pin Corrian Correll (LV), 4:57. 220 - Dan Mochen © pin Jordan Schultz (NJ), 1:42. 285 - Dan Cutter © pin Alex Steinke (LV), 1:49.


106 - Ian Nelson (LP) inj. def. Danny Tolin ©. 113 - John Hernandez (LP) pin Becker Reardon (JG), 1:55. 120 - Nick Felke (LV) pin Chris Merrill ©, 2:15. 126 - Brandon Becker (JG) dec. TJ Dankert (LP), 2-0. 132 - Tyler Amor (JG) pin Matt Potthoff (K), 1:58. 138 - Dakota Figg (LV) pin Jacob Ray (LP), 0:37. 145 - Anthony Felke (LV) pin Jimmy Henrich (MC), 3:33. 152 - Bryant Hunsberger (LV) dec. Aaron Stewart (NP), 11-7. 160 - Kevin Mochen © dec. Bryant Miller (NP), 4-0. 170 - Amilo Lopez (JG) pin Eli Tyler (K), 5:27. 182 - Milo Peddycord (JG) pin Luke Tolson (NJ), 1:22. 195 - James Kane (LP) pin Joey Daneway (NP), 0:57. 220 - Scott Breeding (NP) pin Kyle Simpkins (LP), 0:48. 285 - Michael Turner (MC) pin Brandon Seibert (LP), 2:00.


Posted 2/1/2016




Search This Site:

Custom Search