Chesterton Tribune



Owen Hallas and Cara Kroeger are CHS Athletes of the Year

Back To Front Page


When Owen Hallas and Cara Kroeger don their uniforms, the maroon and gold canít look any better.

Although their physical attributes are obvious, itís the passion and hard work they exhibit during every minute of every event and practice that sets them apart.

Thatís why each of them was named CHS Senior Athlete of the Year at the 2016 Spring Sports Awards Program on Tuesday night.

Hallas won six varsity letters in soccer and baseball, while also earning eight scholar-athlete awards.

On the soccer field, Hallas was the IHSAA Mental Attitude winner after leading the Trojans to the state title game. He was also named Indiana Menís Soccer Player of the Year and earned All-American honors.

The DAC MVP in soccer, he was also selected to the all-conference team four times during his soccer and baseball career. Hallas was the Post-Tribune and NWI Times Player of the Year in soccer and holds more soccer records than any other player in school history (14).

He is CHSí single season point leader (63), owns the record for most goals in a season (27) and is the state record holder for most shot taken in a state championship game (12).

Kroeger won eight varsity letters in golf and swimming, while also earning eight scholar-athlete awards.

Cara has earned four MVP awards, a sportsmanship award, most improved award and mental attitude award. She has been named All-DAC 16 times and hold 16 individual and team Sectional Championships.

Kroeger holds two school record, along with a DAC and IHSAA Sectional record and has been a member of seven DAC championship teams and seven IHSAA Sectional championship teams.

She was the News-Dispatch Swimmer of the Year and was named to the All-Area team by the Post Tribune in swimming and golf.

CHS Athletic Director Garry Nallenweg also honored three-sport athletes on Tuesday night.

Those athletes included freshmen Sydney Balas (soccer, basketball, track), Ashley Craycraft (volleyball, basketball, track), Austin Graf (football, basketball, track), Adam Juestel (football, basketball, baseball), Ryan Klespies (football, basketball, track), Lauren Sensibaugh (soccer, basketball, track), Ben Slatcoff (football, basketball, track) and Zachary Zimmerman (football, basketball, baseball).

Sophomores were Makayla Barbour (cross country, swimming, track), Caitlyn Bogue (soccer, gymnastics, track), Conner Jones (football, wrestling, track), Grace OíDell (soccer, basketball, track), Sarah Schimpf (cross country, diving, track) and Marney Sisson (volleyball, basketball, softball).

Juniors included Elizabeth Canright (cross country, swimming, track), Harley Lohmeyer (soccer, football, basketball), Jenna Wadding (soccer, basketball, track) and Kirsten Wozniak (cross country, gymnastics, track).

The lone senior honored was Sammie Campaniello (soccer, football, track).



Posted 5/31/2017




Search This Site:

Custom Search