Chesterton Tribune



Chesterton Boys Golf wins Sectional title; Davis takes medalist honors

Back To Front Page


The Chesterton boys golf team won the IHSAA Sectional title on Friday at Forest Park Golf Course, but they know what lies ahead for them.

“We’ve known all season what was waiting for us at the Regional,” Chesterton coach Jordan Nelson said. “We have five really good players that work well together. We’re capable of it. Now, we just have to go out and do it.”

The Trojans rolled to a 13-shot victory over runner-up Valparaiso (305-318). Boone Grove finished third (338) to get the other automatic trip to the Regional. Portage was fourth (341).

“It was a good day,” Nelson said. “The guys played well. 305 is a good number to get us on track for next week. It’ll have to be a lower number to get out, but we’re capable of it. We’re moving in the right direction.”

Mitch Davis continued his dominating play with a two-under-par 68 to win medalist honors. Davis recorded birdies on holes 6, 7 and 10.

Devin Trusty followed with the day’s second best score (73), while Sean Elliott (81), Jackson Kerkes (83) and Cameron Schultz (85) followed.

“When 85 is your throw out score, that’s a good solid team effort,” Nelson said. “The greens were slower than what we were expecting today. We made good decisions off the tee. We had good game plans coming in and executed them, especially on the back nine.

“It was a collective effort and a good team win.”

The Trojans return to the course on Thursday when they head to the IHSAA Regional at Battle Ground Golf Club in Lafayette.

“It’ll be a battle. Our goal is 298,” Nelson said. “We’re capable of that number and if you shoot that, and don’t get out, that’s the best we can do. “

IHSAA Sectional


Team Results

1. Chesterton, 305; 2. Valparaiso, 318; 3. Boone Grove, 338; 4. Portage, 341; 5. Hobart, 373; 6. Morgan Twp., 395; 7. Bishop Noll, 402; 8. Wheeler, 408; 9. Hammond Gavit, 528; 10. Hammond Clark, 590.

Individual Results

Valparaiso -- Andrew Karr 80, Mark Civanich 76, Michael Smith 81, Zach Holmes 81, Ryan Gring 83.

Chesterton -- Mitch Davis 68 (MEDALIST), Devin Trusty 73, Sean Elliott 81, Cameron Schultz 85, Jackson Kerkes 83.

Portage -- Brandon Blue 81, Ethan Ortiz 85, Trenton Harminiac 84, Jacob Pierce 91, Jonathan Brasseur 105.

Wheeler -- Brett Jetmund 95, Dylan Harakal 109, Brandon Serafin 82, Tyler Waisanen 122.

Bishop Noll -- Ameer Lawrence 95, Nick Wichlinski 95, Andre Djordjevich 99, Jacob Wichlinski 113, Dominic Ziobro 165.

Hobart -- Harrison Smith 78, Gerardo Lozano 91, Roland Cormier 106, Nathan Schmammert 98, DeForest Lipke 107.

Morgan Twp. -- Jacob Wells 96, Luke Harley 98, Dan Kohler 92, Joe Duszynski 109, Connor Spencer 126.

Hammond Clark -- Justin Elliot 116.

Boone Grove -- Connor Lukas 79, Aaron Lukas 86, Nick Kasmierczak 91, Kyle Wauro 82, Dylan Castellanos 99.

Hammond Gavit -- Doncarlos Mercado 119, Luke Miller 135, Jacob Gonzalez 135, Tyler Loebbaka 139, Josh Tieron 153.



Posted 6/4/2018




Search This Site:

Custom Search