Chesterton Tribune



Chesterton Boys Golf finishes 2nd at Sectional,moves on to Regionals

Back To Front Page



Live to fight another day.

The Chesterton boys golf team finished runner-up in the IHSAA Sectional Tournament at Forest Park Golf Course on Friday and were just happy to move on.

Valparaiso won the team title with a 334 team score to best the Trojans (339) by five shots. Portage finished a distant third (356) and Bishop Noll was fourth (360).

“Definitely not our best day and it wasn’t very good for anybody out there,” Chesterton coach Jordan Nelson said. “We’re happy to get out and move on to the next round. We’ve got some work to do.”

The 334 winning score was 36 shots worse than last year’s winning score and Trojan Mitch Davis took medalist honors with a 7-over-par 77.

“It was tough out there for everyone,” Nelson said. “The way the course was set up, we didn’t make the best decisions. You saw poor decisions everywhere from everybody. Everyone was playing the same course.”

Devin Trusty and Eli Winski backed up Davis with a pair of 86’s, while Cade Lewandowski (90) and Cameron Schultz (93) rounded out the scoring.

“It’s a little of a surprise for us to make mental mistakes like that,” Nelson said. “I haven’t seen that from us all year.”

The Trojans will play in the IHSAA Regional Tournament at Battle Ground Golf Club in Lafayette on Thursday with the first tee time set for 7 a.m. Chesterton time.

“We have something to talk about all week now,” Nelson said. “The green’s at Battle Ground are a lot like the one’s (at Forest Park). There is a lot of slope and change to them. You have to be in the right spot.

“We tried to preach the center of the green, but when you’re a 16-17 year old high school boy, it doesn’t always work out like that.”

IHSAA Sectional


Team Results

1. Valparaiso, 334; 2. Chesterton, 339; 3. Portage, 356; 4. Bishop Noll, 360; 5. Hobart, 367; 6. Boone Grove, 368; 7. Morgan Twp., 402; 8. Wheeler, 415.

Individual Results

Valparaiso -- Robert Kreloff 81, Elliott Husair 86, Max Behrend 87, Mark Civarich 83, Andre Karr 84.

Chesterton -- Mitch Davis 77 (MEDALIST), Devin Trusty 86, Eli Winski 86, Cade Lewandowski 90, Cameron Schultz 93.

Portage -- Eric Lewis 87, Brandon Blue 92, Ethan Ortiz 82, Trenton Haraminac 95, Jacob Pierce 112.

Wheeler -- Mitchell Michaels 106, Brett Jetmund 94, Zach Tucker 120, Brandon Serafin 95, Dylan Harakal 133.

Bishop Noll -- Ameer Lawrence 103, Nick Wichlinski 98, Andrew Djordjevich 103, Spencer Spudic 93.

Hobart -- Harrison Smith 80, Gerardo Lozano 99, Cade Tipold 98, Roland Cormier 90, Jakob Haluska 101.

Morgan Twp. -- Ryan Rassel 87, Jacob Wells 109, Adam Ehristein 107, Dan Kohler 115, Connor Spencer 99.

Hammond Clark -- David Gill 103.

Boone Grove -- Aaron Lukas 83, Connor Lukas 91, Brett Cadle 110, Dylan Castellano 101, Kyle Wauro 93.



Posted 6/5/2017





Search This Site:

Custom Search