Chesterton Tribune



Two parties fail to fill ballots for November election

Back To Front Page



Porter County will see more than a few uncontested races in this year’s General Election.

Today is the last day for party chairpersons to fill open spots on general election ballots now that primary election results have been solidified.

With the exception of the County Prosecutor’s race, Republican Chair Michael Simpson and Democratic Chair Jeff Chidester failed to recruit challengers at the County level and concentrated more on township races.

Two Democrat slots remain empty in the County Council district races, two for County judges, and one for County Assessor. Chidester ended up only selecting Stacie Whitten as a candidate for County Prosecutor. Whitten will run against Republican incumbent Brian Gensel.

Due to the lack of Democrat candidates, Republicans unopposed in November are County Council 1st District Representative Jim Biggs, County Council 3rd District Representative Karen Conover, County Assessor Jon Snyder, Circuit Court Judge Mary Harper and Superior Court 1 Judge Roger Bradford.

In a local race, Chidester selected Mike Adams candidate for Liberty Twp. Trustee. He will challenge Republican incumbent Beth Underwood.

The Democratic caucus also chose Lori Wilkie as candidate for Portage Twp. Board, after one candidate dropped out.

Republican Simpson had the chance to find a challenger for Democratic County Council 2nd District Representative Jeremy Rivas, as well as Superior Court 4 Judge David Chidester, but none were announced in a press release he sent to the Chesterton Tribune Wednesday.

Simpson and his Republican leadership team filled empty spots for Union Twp. Trustee and its advisory board, along with a Portage Twp. Trustee candidate -- Jill Thompson.

As for national and state races, no new names appeared for races that will be on Duneland ballots.

Running unopposed in November are State Sen. Karen Tallian, D-Odgen Dunes, and State Rep. Scott Pelath, D-Michigan City.

Below is the list of races for the Nov. 4 general election for voters in Duneland (inc. indicates an incumbent, bold indicates a contested race):

U.S. Representative District 1: Pete Visclosky (D, inc.), Mark Leyva (R), James L. Johnson, Jr. (write-in)

State Senator District 4: Karen Tallian (D, inc.)

State Representative District 4: Deb Porter (D), Ed Soliday, (R, inc.)

State Representative District 9: Scott Pelath (D, inc.)

State Representative District 10: Charles “Chuck” Moseley (D, inc.), James W. Johnston (R)

Center County Commissioner: Sylvia Graham (D), Jeff Good (R)

County Council Member District 1: Jim Biggs (R, inc.)

County Assessor: Jon Snyder (R)

County Auditor: Vicki Urbanik (D), Robert “Bob” Wichlinski (R, inc.)

County Clerk: Kathy Kozuszek (D), Karen Martin (R, inc.)

County Coroner: Chuck Scheuer (D), Chuck Harris (R, inc.)

County Prosecuting Attorney: Stacey E. Whitten (D), Brian T. Gensel (R, inc.)

County Recorder: Scott Williams (D), Jon C. Miller (R, inc.)

County Sheriff: Dave M. Reynolds (D), Mike Brickner (R)

Judge of Superior Court 1: Roger Bradford (R, inc.)

Judge of Superior Court 4: David Chidester (D, inc.)

Judge of the Circuit Court: Mary R. Harper (R, inc.)

Judge of Superior Court 1: Roger Bradford (R, inc.)

Judge of the Circuit Court: Mary R. Harper (R,, inc.)

Liberty Township Trustee: Mike Adams (D), Beth Underwood (R, inc.)

Liberty Township Board: Tim Cole (R), Jeffrey E. Larson (R), Jacquelyn M. Sterling (R)

Jackson Township Trustee: Janice Meyer (D, inc.)

Jackson Township Board (Vote for Three): C. Diane Bates (D) Judith Guernsey (R), Mark J. Jaeger (R)

Pine Township Trustee: Andy Himan Jr. (D, inc.)

Pine Township Board: (Vote for Three): Tom Lipinski (R), Margaret “Peggy” Richardson (R), Daniel Timm (R)

Westchester Township Trustee: Suzanne Philbrick (D, inc.)

Westchester Township Board: (Vote for Three): Robin Chubb (D), John Canright (R), Cheryl Evans (R), Barbara J. Stroud (R).

County Council District Races outside Duneland:

County Council 2nd District: Jeremy Rivas (D, inc.)

County Council 3rd District: Karen Conover (R, inc.)

County Council 4th District: Don Ensign (D), Michael Jessen (R).


Posted 7/3/2014




Search This Site:

Custom Search