Chesterton Tribune



LaFever challenges Adams in GOP Commissioner race

Back To Front Page


William A. LaFever officially entered the Republican race for Porter County Center District Commissioner this week, challenging incumbent Nancy Adams.

LaFever previously made a run in the 2010 Republican primary for County Recorder, losing to Jon C. Miller.

LaFever said on his Statement of Economic Interests, which candidates are required to fill out and submit with their declarations, that he is involved with sales for the Home Depot retailer. His wife works as a teacher for the School City of Whiting, the form said.

This is the first contested County race for the Republicans and the second between the two parties. The other is the Democratic race for County Sheriff, where Harold Lush and David Reynolds will square off in the May 6 primary election.

County Council member Sylvia Graham, D-At Large, has filed for Center Commissioner on the Democratic side and so far is the only Democrat to do so.

Meanwhile, Porter County Prosecuting Attorney incumbent Brian Gensel, Republican, filed for another term. He is currently unopposed.

The state offices representing Duneland have not seen any new challengers emerge but one has in U.S. Representative District 1.

Mark Leyva of Highland filed his candidacy for the U.S. House seat on the Republican side, hoping to challenge longtime Democrat incumbent Pete Visclosky in the General Election.

Leyva ran against Visclosky unsuccessfully in 2010.

In the Duneland township races, the pace of filings has slowed a bit but this week saw Cheryl Evans enter as the second Republican candidate for the Westchester Twp. board.

Less than 10 days of filing remain and so far no candidate has filed for the offices of County Auditor, County Assessor, or any of the four County Council district races.

County Council member Karen Conover, R-3rd, did publicly announce over the weekend her intent to file for her district race but has not officially declared her candidacy with the County Voters Registration Office.

The deadline to file is Friday, Feb. 7 at 12 p.m.

Candidate filing for school boards will not take place until July 23. Those non-partisan races will be voted on in the November general election.

Following is a list of candidates who have filed so far and will appear on Duneland ballots. Incumbents are indicated in parentheses.


U.S. Representative District 1: Pete Visclosky (inc.)

State Senator District 4: Karen Tallian (inc.)

State Representative District 4: Deb Porter

State Representative District 9: Scott Pelath (inc.)

State Representative District 10: Charles “Chuck” Moseley (inc.)

Center County Commissioner: Sylvia Graham

County Clerk: Kathy Kozuszek

County Coroner: Chuck Scheuer

County Sheriff: Dave M. Reynolds, Harold Lush

Judge of Superior Court 4: David Chidester (inc.)

Jackson Twp. Board: C. Diane Bates

Pine Twp. Trustee: Andrew P. Himan, Jr. (inc.)

Westchester Twp. Trustee: Suzanne Philbrick (inc.)

District Precinct Committeemen: Jackson 4- C. Diane Bates; Pine 1- Andrew P. Himan; Westchester 8- Erik Kozuszek, Sr.


U.S. Representative District 1: Mark Leyva

State Representative District 4: Ed Soliday (inc.)

Center County Commissioner: Nancy Adams (inc.), William A. LaFever

County Clerk: Karen Martin (inc.)

County Coroner: Chuck Harris (inc.)

County Recorder: Jon C. Miller (inc.)

County Prosecuting Attorney: Brian Gensel (inc.)

Judge of the Circuit Court: Mary R. Harper (inc.)

Jackson Twp. Board: Judith Guernsey (inc.)

Liberty Twp. Trustee: Beth Underwood (inc.)

Liberty Twp. Board: Jacquelyn M. Sterling (inc.), Jeffrey E. Larson, Tim Cole, Glenn Wiles (inc.)

Pine Twp. Board: Margaret “Peggy” Richardson (inc.)

Westchester Twp. Board: Barbara J. Stroud (inc.), Cheryl Evans


Posted 1/29/2014