Chesterton Tribune



Jeff Good, Nancy Adams, William LaFever to face off in GOP County Commissioner primary

Back To Front Page


Election hopefuls came out in droves during the past 48 hours to declare their candidacies for this year’s primary and general elections.

Among them--just before the noon deadline today--was Republican Jeff Good, who filed his for the Center District seat on the County Commissioners, making it a three-way race in the primary, with incumbent Nancy Adams and challenger William A. LaFever.

The County Council races, however, saw the most activity on Thursday and today as both incumbents and challengers filed.

A contested primary race is set for County Council District 1 where incumbent Republican Jim Biggs, will square off with Duneland resident Kyle Yelton.

No Democrat candidate filed for Council District 1.

Two contested council races outside of Duneland are in Council District 3 where Republican incumbent Karen Conover will face challenger Russell G. “Chet” Barone in the May 6 primary, and Republican incumbent Jim Polarek will face Michael J. Jessen in District 4.

Democrat Don Ensign has also filed there.

County Council Member Jeremy Rivas filed for District 2 and is currently unopposed. Rivas this morning issued a statement saying that, along with his filing, he is dropping his civil rights lawsuit against the Porter County Board of Commissioners’ ordinance that placed him in District 4 but still asserts he was unfairly targeted in redistricting by Commissioner President John Evans, R-North.

Rivas, a Democrat, said he intends to move his residence back to District 2 to qualify him to run for his seat.

Late Wednesday saw the filing of a Republican candidate for Sheriff: Valparaiso Police Chief Mike Brickner. He is unopposed in the primary but there is a contested race for the Democrats between Chesterton resident Harold S. Lush and former sheriff Dave Reynolds.

County Auditor Robert Wichlinski and County Assessor Jon Snyder, both Republicans, declared their candidacies for reelection. Also, Democrat Vicki Urbanik filed for auditor late today.

In another county race, Democrat Scott Williams filed for Recorder. He will face Republican incumbent Jon C. Miller in November.

Porter County Judge Roger Bradford filed for reelection for Superior Court 1 and remains unopposed on the Republican side.

New filings in township races include Republicans Daniel Timm, who filed for the Pine Township Board; and Mark J. Jaeger, who filed for the Jackson Township Board.

According to the Indiana Secretary of State’s website no more candidacies have been announced in the last 48 hours for U.S. Representative District 1 or in the Indiana House and Senate districts representing Duneland.

An updated list of candidates will be released by the Secretary of State later today.

Candidates have until 12 p.m. Monday, Feb. 10, to withdraw from the primary races if they wish.

Residents have until 12 p.m. Friday, Feb. 14, to file challenges questioning the validity of a candidacy.

Filing for School board races will take place between July 23 and Aug. 22. School board members will be voted on in the November general elections and not in the primaries.

Following is a list of candidates who will appear on Duneland ballots.

Incumbents are indicated in parentheses. Bold indicates a contested primary race:


U.S. Representative District 1: Pete Visclosky (inc.)

State Senator District 4: Karen Tallian (inc.)

State Representative District 4: Deb Porter

State Representative District 9: Scott Pelath (inc.)

State Representative District 10: Charles “Chuck” Moseley (inc.)

Center County Commissioner: Sylvia Graham

County Auditor: Vicki Urbanik

County Clerk: Kathy Kozuszek

County Coroner: Chuck Scheuer

County Recorder: Scott Williams

County Sheriff: Harold S. Lush, Dave M. Reynolds

Judge of Superior Court 4: David Chidester (inc.)

Jackson Township Trustee: Janice Meyer

Jackson Township Board: C. Diane Bates

Westchester Township Board: Robin E. Chubb

Pine Township Trustee: Andrew P. Himan, Jr. (inc.)

Westchester Township Trustee: Suzanne Philbrick (inc.)

District Precinct Committeemen: Liberty 1--Rudolph V. Sutton; Jackson 4--C. Diane Bates; Pine 1--Andrew P. Himan; Pine 2--Jessica (Hertaus) Reagor; Westchester 1--Leonard N. Sullivan; Westchester 4--Larry Chubb; Westchester 8--Erik Kozuszek, Sr., Brian Chubb; Westchester 9--Paul W. Rausch; Westchester 11--Chad Huffman, Raymond Poparad; Westchester 16--Dennis J. McCaffferty; Westchester 17--J. Robert Casko; Westchester 18--Rebecca Rauch

Democrat County Council districts

outside Duneland

District 2 Democrat: Jeremy Rivas (inc.)

District 4 Democrat: Don Ensign


U.S. Representative District 1: Mark Leyva

State Representative District 4: Ed Soliday (inc.)

State Representative District 10: Major John W. Johnson

Center County Commissioner: Nancy Adams (inc.), William A. LaFever, Jeff Good

County Council Member District 1: Jim Biggs (inc.), Kyle Yelton

County Council Member District 4: Anthony Pampalone

County Assessor: Jon Snyder (inc.)

County Auditor: Robert “Bob” Wichlinski (inc.)

County Clerk: Karen Martin (inc.)

County Coroner: Chuck Harris (inc.)

County Prosecuting Attorney: Brian T. Gensel (inc.)

County Recorder: Jon C. Miller (inc.)

County Sheriff: Mike Brickner

Judge of Superior Court 1: Roger Bradford (inc.)

Judge of the Circuit Court: Mary R. Harper (inc.)

Jackson Township Board: Judith Guernsey (inc.), Mark J. Jaeger

Liberty Township Trustee: Beth Underwood (inc.)

Liberty Township Board: (Vote for Three) Tim Cole, Jeffrey E. Larson, Jacquelyn M. Sterling (inc.), Glenn Wiles (inc.)

Pine Township Board: (Vote for Three) Tom Lipinski (inc.), Margaret “Peggy” Richardson (inc.), Daniel Timm, Dianna L. Himan

Westchester Township Board: (Vote for Three) John Canright (inc.), Cheryl Evans, Sue Huyser (inc.), Barbara J. Stroud (inc.)


Republican County Council districts

outside Duneland

District 3 Republican: Karen Conover (inc.), Russell G. “Chet” Barone

District 4 Republican: Michael J. Jessen, Jim Polaerk (inc.), Anthony Pampalone




Posted 2/7/2014