Chesterton Tribune



Early voting for primary elections to begin April 8

Back To Front Page


By unanimous approval from the Porter County Election Board, early voting will begin in Porter County on Tuesday, April 8.

The board on Tuesday voted to keep the three satellite locations already established for 2012 elections.

Voters can partake in walk-in absentee voting at the Porter County Administration Center (155 Indiana Ave., Valparaiso); the North County Government Complex (3560 Willowcreek Rd. in Portage); and the Chesterton Town Hall (726 Broadway).

Hours for the Valparaiso location will be 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. while the Portage and Chesterton locations will be open from 8:30 to 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

This year, all three locations will be open the two Saturdays, April 26 and May 3, before the election from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Early voting ends at noon on Monday, May 5 at all locations.

The board also voted to allow 16 and 17 year-old high school students to work as poll clerks and judges. Directors in the Voters Registration Office Kathy Kozuszek and Sundae Schoon said students will need written permission from their parents and school in order to participate. Students must have a B average in order to be eligible, Kozuszek said.

Voters registration is open now and the deadline to be registered to vote in the May 6 primary election is Monday, April 7. Seventeen-year-olds can register if they will be 18 years-of-age on or before the 2014 General Elections on Nov. 4.

Registering to vote can be done at the County Voters Registration Office at 155 Indiana Ave., Room 105, or online at



Posted 2/19/2014