Chesterton Tribune



Campaign season begins with candidate filings

Back To Front Page


The first day of filing for the 2014 elections in Porter County got off to an uncommonly slow start Wednesday morning with just four filings before deadline today, possibly because of the icy roads.

“We usually have people waiting in long lines outside our door,” said Voters Registration Democratic Director Kathy Kozuszek.

County Council member Sylvia Graham, D-at large, was the first to turn in her forms at about 9 a.m. this morning, a half hour after filing officially started.

Graham will be running for Center County Commissioner in the Democrat primary. The seat is currently held by Republican Nancy Adams, who as of this morning had not filed for reelection.

A member of the Porter County Council for more than five years, Graham said she believes she can create good communication with Council members by being a Commissioner and that cooperation between the boards is crucial.

“We have to make good decisions,” she said.

Graham said she made it a point to file early to let the people of the county know she is serious about representing them.

“Being first shows that I am an interested and concerned person,” she said.

Also filing was Democrat David Reynolds who is vying for County Sheriff. Incumbent David Lain ends his second term this year.

County Coroner Chuck Harris filed to run for a second term. He is running as a Republican.

A fourth filing was made just before deadline. Pleasant Twp. Trustee Jean Oehlman, a Republican, announced she is running for reelection.

Kozuszek noted that candidates are now required by state law to fill out and submit a Statement of Economic Interests form which asks for information regarding what businesses candidates may be associated with.

Filing continues until Friday, Feb. 7 at noon in the County Voters Registration Office located in Room 105 of the Porter County Administration Building, 155 Indiana Ave. in Valparaiso. Hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Candidate forms are available in the voters office and online at


Posted 1/8/2014