Chesterton Tribune                                                                                   Adv.

Primary battles emerge on first day of candidate filings

Back to Front Page



The big day is here at last for those in Porter County with political ambitions.

Today was the first day of filing for the upcoming May 4 primary elections. At least 18 candidates filed in the Porter County Voter County Registration Office during the first three hours of the filing period this morning.

Already, three primary battles -- all on the Democrat ballot -- have taken shape in the races for Porter County Coroner, Auditor and Portage Township Trustee.

The filing deadline ends at noon Feb. 19 for the May primary.

As of deadline today, the following are the candidates who officially filed in the Voter Registration Office. An “inc.” after a candidate’s name signifies the incumbent. The Tribune will update the list throughout the filing period.


County Clerk: Pamela Mishler Fish (inc.)

County Auditor: James Kopp (inc.); Vicki Urbanik

County Coroner: Billy J. Coker; Ronald A. Reed

County Recorder: Debby Dean Malik

County Council, 2nd District: Jeremy Rivas

Jackson Township Trustee: Janice Meyers (inc.)

Portage Township Trustee: Brendan Clancy; Jack D. Jent

Portage Township Board (three seats): Edward Momola; Ken Gillie


County Sheriff: Ralph G. Levi

County Recorder: Jon Miller

County Council, 4th District: James Polarek

Center Township Trustee: William Conover (inc.)

Center Township Board: Stephen Buck (inc.)

Pleasant Township Trustee: Jean Oelhman




Posted 1/20/2010




Custom Search