Chesterton Tribune

Porter Township Trustee Morales files for county council election

Back to Front Page






Filings for county office are off to a slow start this week as no new names have been reported since Friday.

Current Porter Twp. Trustee Edward Morales did file for County Council at-large as a Republican after the Tribune’s deadline on Friday.

Morales is the first candidate to enter the council race on the Republican ticket where voters can vote for up to three in the May 8 primary elections.

Things are busier on the Democrat ticket which has three candidates as of last week. Incumbents Sylvia Graham and current council president Dan Whitten filed to retain their positions while former first district council representative Bob Poparad is running again for an at-large seat.

Filings continue until Feb. 10 at noon in the county’s voter registration office located in Room 105 of the county administration building (155 Indiana Ave., Valparaiso).

As of deadline today, the following are candidates who officially filed in the Voter Registration office. An “inc.” after a candidate’s name signifies the incumbent. The Tribune will update the list throughout the filing period.


County Commissioner, South District: Jerry Puckett, Laura Blaney

County Council, at-large (3 members): Sylvia Graham (inc.); Bob Poparad; Dan Whitten (inc.)

County Treasurer: Mike Bucko (inc.); [Debby] Dean Malik

County Surveyor: Kevin Breitzke (inc.)


County Commissioner, North District: John Evans (inc.); Jim Biggs

County Commissioner, South District: Mike Heinhold

County Council at-large (3 members): Edward Morales







Posted 1/19/2012