Chesterton Tribune                                                                                   Adv.

Candidate filing deadline Friday for May primary

Back to Front Page


Potential candidates who haven’t yet decided if they’ll run for office this year need to decide soon: The deadline to file for the May 4 primary is at noon Friday.

Some races have become even more crowded. Republicans now have seven candidates for the 1st District U.S. House seat held by Democrat Pete Visclosky, who also has a primary challenger.

The following is the up-to-date list, as of this morning, of the candidates who filed either in the Voter Registration Office for county and township races or with the Indiana Secretary of State for federal or state offices. An “inc.” after a candidate’s name signifies the incumbent. The Tribune will run the list again on Friday.


U.S. Rep. 1st District: Peter J. Visclosky (inc.); Woodrow (Woody) Wilcox

U.S. Rep. 2nd District: Joe Donnelly (inc.)

State Senate 4th District: Karen Tallian (inc.)

State Rep. 3rd District: Charlie Brown (inc.); Bryan Bullock

State Rep. 4th District: Thomas W. Webber, Sr.

State Rep. 10th District: Charles Chuck Moseley (inc.)

Porter Superior Court, III: Julia M. Jent (inc.)

County Clerk: Pamela Mishler Fish (inc.)

County Auditor: James Kopp (inc.); Vicki Urbanik

County Assessor: Maureen “Moe” Wendrickx

County Coroner: Billy J. Coker; Norm Hudson; Ronald A. Reed; Nancy Satterlee; Robert L. Schulte

County Recorder: Debby Dean Malik; Jon Voelz

County Sheriff: David Lain (inc.); W. “Chip” Yanta

County Council, 1st District: Robert Poparad (inc.)

County Council, 2nd District: Jeremy Rivas

County Council, 4th District: Marylyn Johns (inc.)

Westchester Township Trustee: Suzanne Phillbrick (inc.)

Westchester Township Board (three seats): William Cantrell (inc.)

Jackson Township Trustee: Janice Meyers (inc.)

Jackson Township Board: Frank O’Reilly (inc.)

Portage Township Assessor: Millie Arocho

Portage Township Trustee: Brendan Clancy; Jack D. Jent

Portage Township Board (three seats): Edward Momola (inc.); Ken Gillie; Terry L. Whitten; Larry Widener (inc.)

Pleasant Township Board: Joe Cooper


U.S. Senate: Don Bates, Jr.; Marlin A. Stutzman

U.S. Rep. 1st District: Adam A. Dombowski, Ric Holtz, Mark Leyva, Peter Lindemulder III, Eric L. Olson, Robert Pastore, Jayson Reeves.

U.S. Rep. 2nd District: Jack Edward Jordan; Jackie Walorski.

State Rep. 4th District: Shawn Olson

County Clerk: Karen M. Martin

County Sheriff: Ralph G. Levi

County Prosecutor: Brian Gensel (inc.)

County Coroner: J. Clinkenbeard; Chuck Harris

County Assessor: Gail D. Hudson

County Recorder: Jon Miller

County Council, 1st District: James Biggs; Kevin Tracy

County Council, 3rd District: Karen Conover (inc.)

County Council, 4th District: James Polarek

Westchester Township Board: John Canright (inc.), Sue Huyser

Jackson Township Board: Ronald A. Bishop (inc.); Judith Guernsey (inc.)

Liberty Township Board: Jacquelyn Sterling (inc.), Edward W. Seykowski (inc.)

Pine Township Board: Tom Lipinski (inc.)

Portage Township Trustee: Joyce Webster (inc.)

Portage Township Board: Ed Carlisle, Harold Gresham, Joseph (Joe) Wszolek

Portage Township Assessor: Cary Hadfield

Center Township Trustee: Charles William Conover (inc.)

Center Township Board: Stephen Buck (inc.), Charles Chuck Hazlett (inc.), Doug Miller, Michael Simpson

Washington Township Trustee: Lynn Ross (inc.)

Washington Township Board: Jean Martin, Fran Samuelson (inc.), Dennis Werner

Morgan Township Trustee: Richard Schultz (inc.)

Morgan Township Board: Rodney King (inc.), Lee Kleist, Andy Vasquez

Pleasant Township Trustee: Jean Oelhman (inc.)

Pleasant Township Board: David Overholt

Boone Township Trustee: Russell “Rusty” Franzman (inc.)

Boone Township Board: Jim Martin, Jeff Patz, Dean Roeske

Porter Township Board: Keith F. Hall, Kathy Sherman

Posted 2/17/2010




Custom Search