Chesterton Tribune                                                                                   Adv.

Filing over: Primary ballots take shape for May 4 vote

Back to Front Page


The Indiana Secretary of State’s office updated its list of candidates who filed for state and federal offices after the Chesterton Tribune went to press on Friday, Feb 19. The following candidates, all Republicans, were added to the list: U.S. House 1st District, Michael Petyo; U.S. House 2nd District, Tony Zirkle; State Representative, 10th district, Kenneth Michael Kaminski.

 Posted 2/22/2010


Let the 2010 primary election season begin.

The filing period closed today at noon for the May 4 primary, with a flurry of candidates filing in the final hours.

Both parties in Porter County still have vacancies for the November general election that can be filled by the respective party chairs prior to the June 30 deadline.

The following is the list of candidates who filed by today’s noon deadline in the Voter Registration Office for county and township races. The list also includes the candidates who filed with the Indiana Secretary of State’s for federal and state offices and for county judges and prosecutors. The state’s list might not be complete; a follow-up report will appear in the Chesterton Tribune Monday if an updated state list includes candidates in Porter County.

An “inc.” after a candidate’s name signifies the incumbent.


U.S. Senate: No candidate

U.S. Rep. 1st District: Peter J. Visclosky (inc.); Woodrow (Woody) Wilcox

U.S. Rep. 2nd District: Joe Donnelly (inc.)

State Senate 4th District: Karen Tallian (inc.)

State Rep. 3rd District: Charlie Brown (inc.); Bryan Bullock

State Rep. 4th District: Thomas W. Webber, Sr.

State Rep. 10th District: Charles Chuck Moseley (inc.)

Porter Superior Court III: Julia M. Jent (inc.)

County Prosecutor: No candidate

County Clerk: Pamela Mishler Fish (inc.)

County Sheriff: David Lain (inc.); W. “Chip” Yanta

County Auditor: James Kopp (inc.); Vicki Urbanik

County Assessor: Maureen “Moe” Wendrickx

County Coroner: Billy J. Coker; Norm Hudson; Ronald A. Reed; Nancy Satterlee; Robert L. Schulte

County Recorder: Debby Dean Malik; Jon Voelz

County Commissioner, Second District: Robert Harper (inc.)

County Council, 1st District: Robert Poparad (inc.); John Sullivan

County Council, 2nd District: Jeremy Rivas; Rita Stevenson (inc.)

County Council, 3rd District: No candidate

County Council, 4th District: Marylyn Johns (inc.)

Westchester Township Trustee: Suzanne Phillbrick (inc.)

Westchester Township Board (three seats): William Cantrell (inc.); Robin Chubb (inc.)

Jackson Township Trustee: Janice Meyers (inc.)

Jackson Township Board: Frank O’Reilly (inc.)

Liberty Township Trustee: No candidate

Liberty Township Board: No candidates

Pine Township Trustee: Andrew Himan

Pine Township Board: No candidates

Portage Township Assessor: Millie Arocho

Portage Township Trustee: Brendan Clancy; Jack D. Jent

Portage Township Board (three seats): Andy C. Maletta; Edward Momola (inc.); Ken Gillie; Terry L. Whitten; Larry Widener (inc.)

Center Township Trustee: Michael Essany

Pleasant Township Board: Joe Cooper

Porter Township Board: Brian Roseke


U.S. Senate: Don Bates, Jr.; Richard Behney; Dan Coats; John N. Hostettler; Marlin A. Stutzman

U.S. Rep. 1st District: Adam A. Dombowski, Ric Holtz, Mark Leyva, Peter Lindemulder III, Eric L. Olson, Robert Pastore, Michael Petyo. Jayson Reeves.

U.S. Rep. 2nd District: Martin A. Dolan; Jack Edward Jordan; Jackie Walorski; Tony Zirkle.

State Sen. 4th District: Shawn Olson

State Rep. 4th District: Ed Soliday (inc.)

State Rep. 10th District: Kenneth Michael Kaminski

Porter Superior Court III: No candidate

County Prosecutor: Brian Gensel (inc.)

County Clerk: Karen M. Martin

County Sheriff: Ralph G. Levi

County Auditor: Robert J. “Bob” Wichlinski

County Assessor: Gail D. Hudson; Jon M. Snyder

County Coroner: J. Clinkenbeard; Chuck Harris

County Recorder: William A. LaFever; Jon Miller

County Commissioner, Second District: Nancy Adams

County Council, 1st District: James Biggs; Kevin Tracy

County Council, 2nd District: No candidate

County Council, 3rd District: Karen Conover (inc.)

County Council, 4th District: James Polarek

Westchester Township Trustee: No candidate

Westchester Township Board: John Canright (inc.), Sue Huyser, Barbara Stroud

Jackson Township Trustee: No candidate

Jackson Township Board: Ronald A. Bishop (inc.); Judith Guernsey (inc.)

Liberty Township Trustee: Beth Underwood

Liberty Township Board: Jacquelyn Sterling (inc.), Edward W. Seykowski (inc.); H. Glenn Wiles (inc.)

Pine Township Trustee: Eric Camel

Pine Township Board: Dianna Himan; Tom Lipinski (inc.); Margaret Richardson; Daniel Timm (inc.)

Portage Township Trustee: Joyce Webster (inc.)

Portage Township Board: Ed Carlisle, Harold Gresham, John Harrison, Joseph (Joe) Wszolek

Portage Township Assessor: Cary Hadfield

Center Township Trustee: Charles William Conover (inc.)

Center Township Board: Stephen Buck (inc.), Charles Chuck Hazlett (inc.), Doug Miller, Michael Simpson

Washington Township Trustee: Lynn Ross (inc.)

Washington Township Board: Jean Martin (inc.), Fran Samuelson (inc.), Dennis Werner (inc.)

Morgan Township Trustee: Richard Schultz (inc.)

Morgan Township Board: Andy Blastick, Rodney King (inc.), Lee Kleist, Andy Vasquez

Pleasant Township Trustee: Jean Oelhman (inc.)

Pleasant Township Board: Gail Goley. David Overholt (inc.), Jeffrey Press (inc.)

Boone Township Trustee: Russell “Rusty” Franzman (inc.)

Boone Township Board: Jim Martin, Jeff Patz, Dean Roeske

Porter Township Trustee: Edward Morales (inc.)

Porter Township Board: Keith F. Hall, Kathy Sherman (inc.); Daniel J. Tim

Union Township Trustee: Mike Herzog; Anthony D. Pampalone (inc.)

Union Township Board: George Topoll; Tim Vojslavek (inc.)



Posted 2/19/2010







Custom Search