Chesterton Tribune



NIRPC elects officers; Jim Ton treasurer

Back To Front Page

On Thursday, the members of the Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) elected Hobart Mayor Brian Snedecor to serve as its chair for 2014.

Also elected were LaPorte Mayor Blair Milo as vice-chair; Chesterton Town Council Member Jim Ton, R-1st, as treasurer; and Lake County Commissioner Roosevelt Allen Jr. as secretary.

Chosen as Executive Board members were Porter County Commissioner Nancy Adams, R-Center, and Hebron Town Council Member Don Ensign to represent Porter County; East Chicago Mayor Anthony Copeland and Schererville Town Council Member Tom Schmitt to represent Lake County; and LaPorte County Commissioner Dave Decker and Michigan City City Council Member Richard Murphy to represent LaPorte County.

And State Rep. Ed Soliday, R-Valparaiso, is the governor’s NIRPC appointment.

Several new commissioners have also been appointed to NIRPC’s governing body this year: Lowell Town Council Member Craig Earley; Lake County Surveyor Bill Emerson Jr.; Merrillville Town Council Member Tom Goralczyk; New Chicago Clerk-Treasurer Lori Reno; Lake County Council Member Eldon Strong; Munster Town Council Member Joe Simonetto; and Cedar Lake Town Council Member Randy Niemeyer.


Posted 1/31/2014