Chesterton Tribune



Chesterton's Jim Ton elected chair of NIRPC

Back To Front Page


Chesterton Town Council Member Jim Ton, R-1st, is the new chair of the Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission’s Executive Board.

Ton was elected to the chair by the full commission at its February meeting. He succeeds 2015 NIRPC Executive Board chair and LaPorte Mayor Blair Milo.

“It is an honor and a privilege to have this opportunity to serve as Chairman of NIRPC,” Ton said. “The current and potential impact of this vital organization is of significant importance to all the citizens of Lake, Porter, and LaPorte counties. I am looking forward to this opportunity to serve the taxpayers of our collective communities.”

The NIRPC Executive Board’s other 2016 officers:

* Vice-chair: Highland Clerk-Treasurer Michael Griffin.

* Treasurer: Wanatah Clerk-Treasurer Diane Noll.

* Secretary: Beverly Shores Town Council Member Geof Benson.

* Lake County member: East Chicago Mayor Anthony Copeland.

* Lake County member: Hammond Mayor Tom McDermott.

* LaPorte County member: LaPorte Mayor Blair Milo.

* LaPorte County member: LaPorte County Commissioner Dave Decker.

* Porter County member: Porter County Surveyor Kevin Breitzke.

* Porter County member: Porter Town Council Member Greg Stinson.

* Governor’s appointee: State Rep. Ed Soliday, R-Valparaiso.

Under Indiana Code, the NIRPC full commission meets four times per year, while the Executive Board meets in the remaining months.

New appointments to NIRPC include the following: Porter County Council Member Sylvia Graham, D-at large; Burns Harbor Town Council Member Toni Biancardi; and Dune Acres Clerk-Treasurer Jeanette Bapst.

Agendas, minutes, resolutions, and other information regarding these and other NIRPC committees are available on NIRPC's website at

NIRPC is the metropolitan planning organization and regional council of local governments for the three counties of Northwest Indiana. NIRPC provides the forum for local elected officials, regional, leadership, and citizens to address regional issues relating to transportation, the environment, and community and economic development.



Posted 2/23/2016




Search This Site:

Custom Search