On Sunday, June 10, beginning at 12:15 p.m., members and friends of the
Chesterton United Methodist Church will gather at the corner of Indiana Ave.
and Second St. to begin a three-block walk through places of interest in the
church’s 150-Year history.
Construction of the original church began in 1862 on the site of the current
Westchester Public Library.
In 1927 the church relocated to its current site at the corner of Porter
Ave. and Second St.
The congregation will walk down Second Street and hear stories about the
merger with the Swedish Methodist Church in 1946, early parsonages and
acquisition of property around the current site, groundbreaking and
cornerstone laying ceremonies, construction of the educational wing and the
At each stop they will re-experience a prayer, song, or litany from a
variety of historical Celebration Services dating back to 1927. The walk
will conclude around 1:30 p.m.
If interested in joining the congregation on Sunday, meet at the parking lot
kitty-corner from the library. To inquire about other upcoming activities,
please contact the church at 926-1478 or visit the website,
United Methodist Church is located at the corner of Porter Ave. and 2nd