Chesterton Tribune



McCloskey, Swarner, Brown win national Izaak Walton awards

Back To Front Page


The Porter County Chapter (PCC) of the Izaak Walton League is making a habit of bringing home conservation awards from the League’s annual national convention, held this year in Sandusky, Ohio.

Elizabeth “Liz” McCloskey was awarded the Hall of Fame award for her years of dedication to the conservation of our natural resources and the Izaak Walton League. Her late husband Terry was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2014. The McCloskeys join Herb and Charlotte Read of Chesterton as Porter County Chapter members in the League Hall of Fame.

Susan Swarner of Chesterton, meanwhile, was the recipient of a Conservation Award for her dedication to the chapter’s youth education and Family Nature Nights programs. Newly elected chapter president “Susan deserves recognition for all the work she does educating kids about our wildlife and our natural resources,” newly elected Chapter President Gary Brown said.

Brown himself was also the recipient of a Conservation Award for his work in many different areas of chapter involvement. “Gary has become one of our most reliable volunteers working on our Frame farm, attending public meetings, and promoting the chapter at all our public events,” said Bill Iltzsche, who nominated Brown.

The Porter County Chapter also received two awards in categories for chapters with less than 500 members: the James Lawton Childs Award for most outstanding chapter conservation program; and the Robert C. O’Hair Award for the most outstanding youth programs for the last year.

The IWLA was founded in Chicago in 1922 by 54 anglers and outdoorsmen concerned about the continued degradation of the lakes and rivers they loved.


Posted 8/25/2017





Search This Site:

Custom Search