Chesterton Tribune



Porter County Treasurer Clancy files candidacy

Back To Front Page



The current candidate filing period continued at a slow pace in the Porter County Voters Registration Office this week.

One new addition to the ballot for County offices is incumbent Treasurer Michelle Clancy filing for a full term.

Clancy is currently fulfilling a term held by former Treasurer Mike Bucko, having been elected by Democratic caucus after Bucko retired in July 2014.

One Republican filed for Treasurer on the first day of filing -- current County Coroner Chuck Harris.

Meanwhile, the County Voters Registration office reported no new filings in other races -- County Commissioner North District, County Commissioner South District, County Council at-large, and County Surveyor.

The last day candidates can file is Friday, Feb. 5 at noon.

There have been some new filings however for Republican precinct committeemen and GOP and Democratic state and convention delegates.

No candidates have filed in State races in Duneland’s representative district this week but there has been activity on the National front with two U.S. Presidential candidates filing in Indiana -- Republican Jeb Bush and Democrat Hillary Clinton -- as well as Republican Todd Young who is running for U.S. Senator.

Below is the current list of candidates for Duneland ballots as of deadline today:

Democrat Filings

U.S. President: Hillary Clinton

U.S. Representative, 1st District: Peter J. Visclosky (inc.)

State Representative, 4th District: Pamela Mishler Fish

State Representative, 10th District: Chuck Moseley (inc.)

County Commissioner, North District: Jeffrey L. Chidester

County Commissioner, South District: Laura Shurr Blaney (inc.)

County Council, at-large (pick three): Sylvia Graham (inc.); Robert Poparad (inc.); Dan Whitten (inc.)

County Treasurer: Michelle Clancy (inc.)

County Surveyor: Kevin Breitzke (inc.)

Superior Court Judge 3: Julia Jent (inc.)

Delegates to State Convention: Laura Shurr Blaney, Jeffrey L. Chidester, Brendan Clancy, Kevin L. Cornett, Collin W. Czilli, Matthew (Matt) Gibson, Jesse Harper, Kathryn Kozuszek.

Republican Filings

U.S. President: Jeb Bush

U.S. Senator: Todd Young

U.S. Representative, 1st District: John Meyer

State Representative, 4th District: Ed Soliday (inc.)

County Treasurer: Chuck Harris

Precinct Committeeman: Pine 2 - Richard A. “Rick” Rikosk



Posted 1/22/2016




Search This Site:

Custom Search