Chesterton Tribune



Jeff Trout files for Republican North County Commissioner

Back To Front Page



Republican and former Chesterton Town Council member Jeff Trout announced he will file his candidacy today for the office of North County Commissioner.

Trout issued a press release Monday saying he has over 20 years of community involvement, touting his experiences as a business owner in Duneland and serving as a board member on non-profit organizations along with developing the Chesterton European Market with his wife Bonnie.

Trout said he is prepared to take on the office of County Commissioner given his leadership on Town boards.

“With over 15 years of public service that includes the Chesterton plan commission, board of zoning appeals, and seven years on the Town Council, I have the knowledge and proven experience to successfully represent all of North Porter County in a vital leadership role at such a critical time,” said Trout.

If elected, Trout said his priorities as Commissioner will be to continue the progress in addressing the nearly $20 million in critical drainage projects, working with the County Council and state legislature to find funding solutions for improvements to roads and bridges, advancing economic development along the U.S. 6 corridor and around the Porter County Airport, continuing the growth of the county park system, and the, prudent investment of the $157 million dollars in hospital proceeds.

“The groundwork has been laid for Porter County to see dramatic improvements over the next few years, and the implementation of those planned improvements require the steady, experienced hand of a seasoned professional,” Trout said in his statement.

Trout will face Portage Councilman John Cannon in the May 3 Republican primary race. The seat is currently held by John Evans, who has not filed.

Candidates have until this Friday at noon to file.

Meanwhile, three Republicans have filed to run for the three County Council at-large seats.

Valparaiso resident Rich Parks filed his candidacy on Friday. Porter County Alcohol Beverage Commission member Ralph Levi filed on Monday along with former Hebron Town Council member Travis Gearhart who now resides in Westchester Township.

There have been no other new filings elsewhere for local County, State and National offices since Friday.

Below is the current list of candidates for Duneland ballots as of deadline today. Bold represents a contested primary race:

Democrat Filings

U.S. President: Hillary Clinton

U.S. Representative, 1st District: Peter J. Visclosky (inc.)

State Representative, 4th District: Jesse Harper; Pamela Mishler Fish

State Representative, 9th District: Scott Pelath (inc.)

State Representative, 10th District: Chuck Moseley (inc.)

County Commissioner, North District: Jeffrey L. Chidester

County Commissioner, South District: Laura Shurr Blaney (inc.)

County Council, at-large (pick three): Sylvia Graham (inc.); Robert Poparad (inc.); Dan Whitten (inc.)

County Treasurer: Michelle Clancy (inc.)

County Surveyor: Kevin Breitzke (inc.)

Superior Court Judge 3: Michael L. Deppe; Julia Jent (inc.)

State Convention Delegates: Mike Adams, Rebecca Adams, Ferdinand Alvarez, Lisa Beck, Vernon Beck, Geof Benson, Laura Shurr Blaney, Jeffrey L. Chidester, Brendan Clancy, Billy J. Coker, Kevin L. Cornett, Collin W. Czilli, Pamela Mishler Fish, Debra E. Fray, Matthew (Matt) Gibson, Jesse Harper, Jane M. Jordan, Joseph A. Kasper, Deborah Kerr-Cook, Kathryn Kozuszek, Sue I. Lynch, Dennis J. McCafferty, Elaine J. McCafferty, Charles “Chuck” Moseley, Juanagene A. Nietert, Clay M. Patton, Karen Tallian, Scott Williams

Republican Filings

U.S. President: Jeb Bush; John R. Kasich

U.S. Senator: Eric Holcomb; Marlin Stuzman; Todd Young

U.S. Representative, 1st District: John Meyer

State Representative, 4th District: Ed Soliday (inc.)

County Commissioner, North District: John M. Cannon, Jeff Trout

County Council, at-large (pick 3): Travis Gearhart, Ralph G. Levi, Rich Parks

County Treasurer: Chuck Harris

Precinct Committeeman: Liberty 4 - Jacquelyn M. Sterling; Pine 2 - Richard A. “Rick” Rikosk; Westchester 4 - Stephanie Kuziela; Westchester 11 - Kevin Tracy; Westchester 12 - Travis Gearhart

State Convention Delegates: Jackson Twp. (2) - None; Liberty Twp. (3) - Jacquelyn M. Sterling; Pine Twp. (1) - None; Westchester Twp. (5) - Andy Bozak, Travis Gearhart, Stephanie Kuziela, Jon C. Miller, Kevin Tracy, Krista Tracy.


Posted 2/2/2016






Search This Site:

Custom Search