Chesterton Tribune



Jeff Chidester files for North District Commissioner

Back To Front Page



Shortly after noon on Wednesday, the race for County Commissioner North District got underway as Jeff Chidester filing his candidacy.

Chidester has been the chair of the Porter County Democratic Central Committee for the past eight years and has worked on many campaigns, although this is his first time running for a County office.

Chidester, who resides in Portage Twp., said he is 18 months away from retirement as financial secretary with Ironworkers 395 but still “has the energy to do new things.”

As for his aspirations if elected, Chidester told the Chesterton Tribune he looks forward to sitting down with members of the Board of Commissioners and County Council discussing their thoughts for the County’s future.

“I think we are on the same page with a lot of things,” he said.

Chidester is the first Democrat to run for the North County Commissioner seat since 2008. The current seat holder is Republican John Evans who is finishing his fourth term.

No Republicans have filed so far.

Poparad files for re-election

This morning, the Voters Registration Office reported that County Council at-large member Robert Poparad filed his candidacy for a succeeding term on the Council. That puts all three incumbent at-large Council members on the ballot, including Dan Whitten and Sylvia Graham who filed yesterday.

All three are running as Democrats.

Poparad said he wants to serve another four years to get the community endowment fund foundation started. The County Commissioners and Council are in the process of forming a Foundation to invest the nearly $160 million in funds from the sale of the county owned Porter Memorial Hospital and achieve a bigger return on investment.

“Let’s get that going,” said Poparad, who sits on the committee working with the Council’s investment consultant.

Other incumbents at the national and state level who filed Wednesday to appear on the ballots Duneland voters will cast include longtime U.S. Representative Pete Visclosky, D-1st, and State Rep. Chuck Moseley, D-Portage.

Wednesday was the first day for candidate filing for the May primary elections. The filing period runs through Friday, Feb. 5.

Below is the list of candidates who have filed as of deadline today.

Democrat Filings

U.S. Representative, 1st District: Peter J. Visclosky (inc.)

State Representative, 10th District: Chuck Moseley (inc.)

County Commissioner, North District: Jeffrey L. Chidester

County Commissioner, South District: Laura Shurr Blaney (inc.)

County Council, at-large (pick three): Sylvia Graham (inc.); Robert Poparad (inc.); Dan Whitten (inc.)

County Surveyor: Kevin Breitzke (inc.)

Delegates to State Convention: Jeffrey L. Chidester; Collin W. Czilli; Jesse Harper

Republican Filings

County Treasurer: Chuck Harris



Posted 1/7/2016




Search This Site:

Custom Search