Chesterton Tribune



GOP sets caucus for Burns Harbor Council and Liberty Township board seats

Back To Front Page


The election of Jeff Larson and Andy Bozak to the Porter County Council has created vacancies on two other boards -- the Liberty Township Advisory Board and the Burns Harbor Town Council.

The Porter County Republican Party announced it will be holding a political caucus to fill those vacancies on Monday, Jan. 23 at the Porter County Administration Building, 155 Indiana Ave., Valparaiso, 7 p.m. in Room 102A.

Larson served on the Liberty Township Advisory Board and was elected as an at-large member to the County Council in the 2016 General Elections.

Bozak was elected by a Republican caucus last week to succeed Jim Biggs on the County Council as 1st District representative. Biggs resigned the seat to be on the County Board of Commissioners.

The caucus will also seek to fill another seat as well on the Porter Twp. Board. That vacancy was created by the death of Board member Dave Williams.

County GOP Chairman Michael Simpson said in a press release after deadline Wednesday that persons interested in running for the seats must submit declaration of candidacy forms to the Office of Voter Registration no later than 72 hours prior to the Jan. 23 caucus.

The Voter Registration Office is located in the Porter County Administration Building, 155 Indiana Avenue, Room 105, Valparaiso, Indiana 46383. The phone number is (219) 465-3486.

Additionally, a letter of intent must be forwarded to Simpson.

Persons seeking to fill the vacancy must be a resident of the respective district. The Liberty Township Board represents all of Liberty Township.

Bozak was an at-large member of the Burns Harbor Town Council meaning the candidate would must reside within the town limits of Burns Harbor.

Simpson said proxy votes will not be accepted at the caucus. Only precinct committeemen in office 30 days prior to the election are eligible to vote.

The County Chair (or the Chairs designee) will chair the caucus. The law requires a secret ballot and the winner needs a majority vote. The candidate(s) will be given up to three minutes to speak in alphabetical order. The candidates(s) may, if they so choose, have an introduction by a party member, no more than two minutes, prior to their speech.

If the Caucus Chair is not a voting member of the district (township) then the chair may vote in a second ballot tie. The decision to let the Caucus Chair vote must be made at the beginning of the Caucus before the balloting begins.



Posted 1/12/2017




Search This Site:

Custom Search