Chesterton Tribune



Duneland incumbents filing for reelection; dearth of challengers so far

Back To Front Page



With two weeks remaining in the filing period, the primary municipal election in Duneland has elicited little interest beyond incumbents.

Only one challenger so far has filed: David Phillips (D), for the 4th District seat on the Porter Town Council currently held by Ross LeBleu (D). LeBleu himself has not yet filed.


* Clerk-Treasurer: incumbent Stephanie Kuziela (R).

* 1st District: incumbent Jim Ton (R).

* 3rd District: incumbent Dane V. Lafata (D).

* 5th District: incumbent Emerson DeLaney (R).


* Clerk-Treasurer: incumbent Carol Pomeroy (R).

* 1st District: incumbent Erik Wagner (D).

* 2nd District: incumbent Greg Stinson (D).

* 3rd District: incumbent William “Bill” Lopez (D).

* 4th District: David Phillips (D).

* 5th District: incumbent Brian Finley (R).

Burns Harbor

* Clerk-Treasurer: incumbent Jane Jordan (D).

* At-large (vote for five): incumbent Nicholas Loving (D) and incumbent Raymond (Ray) Poparad (D).

Beverly Shores

* Clerk-Treasurer: incumbent Ellen Hundt (D).

Dune Acres, Pines,

Ogden Dunes

No filings as of deadline today.


* Mayor: Debra “Deb” Porter (D).

* Clerk-Treasurer: Erin Stojic (D); Holly Taylor (R).

* At-large (vote for two): Todd Etzler (D); incumbent George Douglas (R) and Evan Costas (R).

* 1st District: incumbent Diana Reed (D); Holly Howe (R).

* 2nd District: incumbent Robert (Bob) Cotton (D).

* 3rd District: Kevin Cornett (D); Walter Dougherty (R).

* 4th District: Jack Pupillo (R).

* 5th District: Gilles Charriere (D).


* Mayor: Leo T. Hatch Jr. (D) Sue I. Lynch (D), and Christopher D. Stidham (D); John Cannon (R).

* Clerk-Treasurer: Elizabeth (Turzai) Modesto (D) and Nina Rivas (D).

* At-large (vote for two): incumbent Mark S. Oprisko (D), Debbie Podgorski (D), and Steve Sonaty (D); Austin Bonta (R).

* 1st District: Gina Giese-Hurst (D).

* 2nd District: Frank O’Reilly (D) and incumbent Patrick Clem (D).

* 3rd District: incumbent Scott Williams (D); Antonio C. Gutierrez (R).

* 4th District: Brian M. Gulley (D); William P. Fekete (R).

* 5th District: incumbent Collin W. Czilli (D).


The deadline to file is 12 p.m. Friday, Feb. 8. For complete information on who may run for municipal office and how to file, see the Monday, Jan. 14, edition of the Chesterton Tribune.



Posted 1/24/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search