Chesterton Tribune



Caucus November 3 to fill vacant 5th District seat on Porter council

Back To Front Page


A caucus will be held at 6 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 3, at the Porter town hall, 303 Franklin St., to fill the vacancy on the Town Council created by former member Tim Conroy’s resignation of his 5th District seat on Oct. 7.

Persons interested in the seat must be Republicans and residents of the 5th District; must submit a declaration of candidacy form to the Porter County Office of Voter Registration no later than 72 hours prior to the caucus, that is, by the close of business Monday, Oct. 31; and must submit a letter of intent to Porter County Republican Party Chair Michael Simpson.

The declaration of candidacy form is available at the Office of Voter Registration in the Porter County Administration Building, Room 105, 155 Indiana Ave., Valparaiso. The phone number is (219) 465-3486.

Simpson’s address is P.O. Box 546, Valparaiso, IN 46384-0546

Rules of the caucus:

* Proxy votes will not be accepted.

* Only precinct committeemen in office 30 days prior to the election are eligible to vote.

* Simpson, or Simpson’s designee, will chair the caucus.

* State statute requires a secret ballot and the winner needs a majority vote.

* Candidates will be given three minutes to speak, in alphabetical order.

* If the caucus chair is not a voting member of the district (township), then he or she may vote in second ballot tie. But the decision to let the caucus chair vote must be made at the beginning of the caucus, before balloting starts.


Posted 11/1/2016




Search This Site:

Custom Search