Chesterton Tribune



Candidate filings: Only two primary races, so far both for Coroner

Back To Front Page



The political field for the primary election on May 8 is slowly taking shape, two weeks after the filing period opened on Jan. 10.

The filing period ends at 12:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 9.

At the moment, there are only two contested primary races, in Porter County, both for the nomination for Coroner: Republicans Thomas Ampeliotis and Cyndi Dykes will vie for their party’s nomination; and Democrats Dale Bagnall and Randy Wilkening for theirs.

The filings to date.

County Races

* Sheriff: David M. Reynolds (D-incumbent).

* Clerk: Jon C. Miller (R); Miller is currently the incumbent Recorder.

* Auditor: Vicki Urbanik (D-incumbent); Karen Martin (R).

* Assessor: Jon Snyder (R-incumbent).

* Recorder Chuck Harris (R); Lily M. Schaefer (D).

* Coroner: Thomas Ampeliotis (R) and Cyndi Dykes (R); Dale Bagnall (D) and Randy Wilkening (D).

* County Council, 1st District: Andy Bozak (R-incumbent); Bob Poparad (D).

* County Council, 2nd District: Jeremy Rivas (D-incumbent).

* County Council, 3rd District: March “Coach” Hoffman (R), while withdrawing his previously filed candidacy was Walter A. Dougherty (R); Greg Simms (D).

* County Council, 4th District: Mike Jessen (R-incumbent).

* Prosecuting Attorney: Brian Gensel (R-incumbent).

* Porter Superior Court Judge No. 2: Jeffrey W. Clymer (R-incumbent); Clay Patton (D).

* Porter Superior Court Judge No. 6 Jeffrey L. Thode (R-incumbent).

State Legislative Races

* House, 9th District: Duane Perry (D). The incumbent, State Rep. Scott Pelath (D), is not seeking re-election.

* House, 4th District: Ed Soliday (R-incumbent).

* House, 10th District: Charles “Chuck” Moseley (D-incumbent).

* Senate, 4th District: Karen Talian (D-incumbent); Cole Stultz (R).

U.S. House

U.S. Rep. Pete Visclosky, D-1st, has filed for re-election.

Republicans David Dopp, Mark Leyva, and John Meyer have also filed.

Township Races

* Jackson Township Trustee: Janice Meyers (D-incumbent).

* Jackson Township Board: Judith L. Guernsey (R-incumbent) and C. Diane Bates (D-incumbent).

* Liberty Township Trustee: Beth A. Underwood (R-incumbent).

* Liberty Township Board: Tim Cole (R-incumbent), Terry E. Dunn (R-incumbent), and Jacquelyn M. Sterling (R-incumbent).

* Westchester Township Trustee: Suzanne Philbrick (D-incumbent).



Posted 1/25/2018




Search This Site:

Custom Search