Chesterton Tribune



Candidate filing for 2018 primary elections begins today

Back To Front Page


Candidates seeking public office this year may file their declarations of candidacy for the 2018 primary elections beginning today, with the Indiana Secretary of State or Porter County Election Board.

Filing will remain open until 12 p.m. Friday, Feb. 9.

A candidate seeking nomination by a major political party may file, as well as independent or minor party candidates and state convention delegates.

Candidates for U.S. Senate may begin filing petitions of nomination with county voter registration offices for verification of petition signatures.

“Electoral participation is the bedrock of our constitutional form of government, and I congratulate those individuals who have made the decision to enter public service,” Secretary of State Connie Lawson said. “I encourage all candidates to pay careful attention to the policies and deadlines set forth by the laws of our state, and to file the appropriate documents sooner rather than later to avoid unnecessary mistakes and ensure an easy and efficient process for all parties involved.”

Candidates may file their declaration of candidacy (form CAN-2) with the Secretary of State or the Indiana Election Division or the Porter County Election Board, in the County Administration Building at 155 Indiana Ave. in Valparaiso.

Further information can be found by calling the Election Division at (317) 232-3939 or visiting

Candidate filings as of deadline today

The candidate-filing period opened today and a few early-birders have already formally filed for county office:

* Recorder: Republican Chuck Harris, who currently serves as Coroner; Democrat Lily M. Schaefer.

* Coroner: Republican Thomas Ampeliotis.

* County Council, 3rd District: Republican Walter A. Dougherty.

* County Council, 4th District: Republican Mike Jessen (incumbent).

A number of incumbents have previously announced their intent to seek re-election but have not yet filed, according to Porter County Voter Registration’s website. They include Sheriff Dave Reynolds, Auditor Vicki Urbanik, and Recorder Jon C. Miller.


Posted 1/10/2018




Search This Site:

Custom Search