Chesterton Tribune

WDSO honors CHS broadcasting students

Back to Front Page





Chesterton High School radio station WDSO-FM held its 30th annual Awards Night on Tuesday evening, May 22, in the CHS Cafeteria.

Guests for the evening were Jim Goetz, CHS Principal, Duneland School Board members Janice Custer, President, and Ralph Ayres, Secretary, and Scott Truelove, Chairman of the Business and Information Technology Department at CHS.

Nominations for awards were made by the membership of WDSO except for the special awards.

Outstanding awards went to Jackie Santos (11), Most Outstanding Newscaster for the second year in a row and Most Outstanding DJ to Jake Deiotte (12).

A plaque in the shape of the state of Indiana in recognition of her 1st Place Award in Radio Copywriting at the Indiana Association of School Broadcasters competition was presented to Jackie Santos. A similar plaque was presented to CHS at the competition in Indianapolis in March.

Senior Award plaques were presented to all on-air qualified seniors. They are David Allan-Ortiz, Nick Borzych, Jake Deiotte, Hunter Huddleston, Austin Martinson and Brandon Padgett.

Graduating Member of WDSO Award certificates were presented to seniors Jesse Hernandez, Nathaniel Oddi, Marissa Smith and Paul Wilson.

Additional award certificates were presented to students in all grade levels: Best Morning Assistant, Nathaniel Oddi (12) and Sean Virden (9); Most Outstanding New Student, Matt Leetz (9); Most Outstanding Veteran Student, Jake Deiotte (12); Most Knowledgeable Veteran Student, Austin Martinson (12) and Most Improved Veteran Student, Billy Atherton (11).

Academic Letters went to senior David Allan-Ortiz and junior Billy Atherton. To earn this award the student must be on-air qualified for at least 12 calendar months, complete all requirements for veteran status and attend at least 80 percent of all WDSO monthly meetings. Management reviews the student’s conduct. A grade of “A” or “B” in at least three semesters of Advanced Broadcasting combined with independent study, plus participation in 10 special events like engineering or announcing sports, election results or special news broadcasts are required.

News Awards: Matt Leetz (9) was named Most Promising New Newscaster; Most Improved Newscaster, Kelley Jankowicz (11) and Dallas Milligan (10); Best News Reporter (Advanced Broadcasting Class), Sarah Duron (10) and Best Sports Reporter (Advanced Broadcasting Class), Nick Borzych (12). Borzych also received an award for the Most In-Depth Sports Actualities.

Sports Awards were Best On-Air Sportscaster went to Nick Borzych (12); Most Improved Sportscaster: Austin Ballestero (10); Most Promising Sportscaster: Dallas Milligan (10) and for the 2nd year in a row - Most Sports Games Engineered: Patrick Menn (11).

All of the students who broadcast sports events for WDSO received a certificate for their participation. They included: seniors Nick Borzych, Jon Vincent, Austin Roach, Spencer Sutton and Blake Valdez; juniors Andrew Caratini, Eric Driescherf, Adam Polkinghorn and Jake Williams; sophomores Austin Ballestero, Nate Dickinson, Dallas Milligan, Trevor Klaus and Devon Benedict and freshman Matt Leetz.

Music Awards: Best Afterschool Show – Jake Deiotte (12); Most Promising New DJ – Nick Moreno (10) and Most Improved DJ - Patrick Menn (11).

After school Music Show Awards: seniors David Allan-Ortiz, Jake Deiotte and Austin Martinson; juniors Jackie Santos, Billy Atherton and Patrick Menn; sophomores Nathan Babcock and Nick Moreno.

Other student awards include the Indiana Association of School Broadcasters (IASB) Competition Awards: Finalist in News Anchor category – Austin Martinson (12); 1st Place in Radio Copywriting – Jackie Santos (11). Interviewer Award – Billy Atherton (11); Best Promo Maker – Jake Deiotte (12) and Most Creative Promo Maker – Lily Jablonski (10).

Two WDSO members received the Checklist Completion Award – senior David Allan-Ortiz and junior Billy Atherton.

WDSO seniors collecting the most Radiothon pledges on-the-air: Nick Borzych and David Allan-Ortiz. The Non-senior member of WDSO who collected the most money for Radiothon for the second year was Jackie Santos (11). Runner-up was freshman Jason Garmany.

WDSO Service Awards are given to students who are on-air qualified or very close to it. The number of years in radio includes the semester enrolled in Radio I or Radio/Video class. Four years: seniors Nick Borzych and Austin Martinson. Three years: seniors Jake Deiotte, David Allan-Ortiz and Brandon Padgett; juniors Jackie Santos and Billy Atherton. Two years: juniors Brandon Kouvakas, Patrick Menn, Kelley Jankowicz and Jake Williams; sophomores Nathan Babcock, Austin Ballestero, Sarah Duron, Nick Moreno and Dallas Milligan.

Staff awards: members each received a certificate for serving as director in the various departments.

Program director, Austin Martinson (12), also received a plaque; co-music directors, Jake Deiotte (12) and Jackie Santos (11); news director Billy Atherton, (11); training director, David Allan-Ortiz (12); Sports Director, Nick Borzych; PSA director, Hunter Huddleston (12); promotions co-directors, Patrick Menn (11) and Brandon Kouvakas (11).

Staff Department Awards were Most Improved Department: News – Billy Atherton (11); Director and Training - David Allan-Ortiz, Director (12). Best Department: Music – Jake Deiotte (12) and Jackie Santos (11). Second Year in a row - Most Dedicated Staff Member: Billy Atherton (11).

Appreciation Awards were presented to members of the school or community who have hosted special programs for WDSO, including Jim Goetz, CHS Principal; Jeff Van Drie, Kevin Zeck and Tim McGinty, CHS Assistant Principals who have hosted the CHS Weekly Report; Brad Bumgardner, Interpreter at the Indiana Dunes State Park and Jean-Pierre Anderson, Interpreter at the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, hosts of Naturally Speaking; Dr. Carol Dartz (Owner/Veterinarian), Dr. Russell Mejeur and Dr. Johanna Neil veterinarians, and Rachel Moran, Registered Veterinary Technician, at Arbor View Animal Hospital, hosts of the monthly show Pet Talk; Chesterton Tribune for providing Echoes of the Past for WDSO’s Daily Almanac Show; Serena Sutliff, WPL Assistant Director and Curator of the Westchester Township History Museum for hosting Historically Speaking.

Also receiving Appreciation Awards were Wendy Marciniak, Publicist for the Chesterton Art Center , host of Artful Conversations and WDSO Sports Director, Nick Borzych and CHS Athletic Trainer, Bernie Stento for hosting Sports Medicine & More, a new show this year.

During the Awards Night, the new staff for the 2012-13 school year was announced. They include co-program directors - juniors Billy Atherton and Patrick Menn; music director – Jackie Santos (11) and assistant music director – Kelley Jankowicz (11); news director – Nathan Babcock (10) ; training director – Nick Moreno (10); sports director - Dallas Milligan (10); promotions director – Sarah Duron (10); and PSA director – Matt Leetz (10).

Matthew Waters is the Station Manager/Faculty Advisor and Michele Stipanovich is the station’s Operations Manager.


Posted 5/23/2012