Chesterton Tribune



Trojan Guard celebrates season; honors standouts

Back To Front Page


The staff, students, and parents of the Chesterton High School Trojan Guard Marching Band celebrated the accomplishments of the groupís 2017 season by hosting their annual awards night at the school on Tuesday, February 13.

The awards program recognizes and rewards the individual efforts that are an integral part of the success of the Trojan Guard. In recent years, the band has placed high in the Indiana State School Music Associationís Scholastic State Marching Band Finals including a first place championship in 2013 and 2015. In addition to the presentation of individual and group awards, the evening always includes a slide show presentation, and a recording of the studentsí State performance so that the students and parents can look back on the many memories of their season. While this ceremony focuses on the 2017 season, members of the marching band know that it also signals the start of preparations for the new 2018 edition of the Trojan Guard.

On Thursday, February 22, the band will begin a series of monthly pre-season rehearsals that will include the addition of next yearís freshman class. Along with the new music that will be taught at these rehearsals, this is also the time when marching basics are introduced to each potential member, and the color guard students use the time to gain basic skills on their traditional equipment: rifles, flags, and sabers.

Members of the 2017 Trojan Guard include: Amera Abuhakmeh, Victoria Adams, Keyon Allen, Bianca Alvarez, Hailey Ayala, Hallie Beebe, Abby Billings, Kris Bodie, Kelsey Bolton, Ethan Botts, Aaron Brookhouse, J.D. Browning, Holly Brueggert, Kaitlyn Brueggert, Colin Campbell, Olivia Cappos, Andrew Cernick, Alyssa Cole, Mercedes Cooper, Adam Davis, Gavin Dooley, Tristan Dooley, Chloe Eash, Dani Else, Andrew Engel, Hannah Estridge, Laura Estridge, Garrett Fairbanks, Andrew Figg, Sailor Franklin, Emmie Fredrickson, Caden French, Jessica Fuller, David Gerth, Josh Guzek, Lori Ann Hamil, Anthony Hampton, Danny Herr, Nathan Herr, Ryan Herr, David Hodgkiss, Mark Hodgkiss, Henry Hoham, Harleah Hufstedler, Paul Kennedy, Sadie Kidd, Conner Kilander, Regan Kistner, Holly Kittredge, Carlie Kocoj, Megan Koster, Nate Kravitz, Anthony Langley, Olivia Lee, Abbey Leffert, Olivia Lopez, Anastasia Loving, Shaye McCarthy, Reagan McCoy, Clare McNicholas, Allena Mercks, Anthony Miskus, Jackie Moehl, Holly Muszynski, Lucy Novreske, Mary Oberlander, Eli Ontiveros, Abby Palmer, Bryan Pamintuan, Nolan Poczekay, Jocelynn Ponce, Dylan Rodriguez, Samantha Runions, Ben Rutkowski, Sydney Sarver, Delaney Schavey, Alec Schmidt, Roxanne Schwab, Chris Sexton, Carly Sparacio, Evan Sprang, Taryea Terry, Alyssa Thompson, Hunter Torres, Cody Tretter, Lily Vaughn, Morgan Virden, Shayne Wassell, Jacob Weitzel, Brooke Wilson, and Jacob Winland.

The Drum Major is Miss Violet Needham. The Trojan Guard is under the direction of Michael Scheiber, with assistance by Vincent Arizzi.

Additional staff includes Lisa Scheiber-color guard director, Kylene Mitchell-color guard assistant, Matt Christensen-marching tech, Jeff Wroblewski-drill design.

For additional information regarding the Trojan Guard or any band activity, please contact the CHS Music Department at 983-3730.



Posted 2/22/2018




Search This Site:

Custom Search