Chesterton Tribune



Speech and Debate kicks off the new year with a win at Indianapolis Ben Davis

Back To Front Page


The CHS Speech and Debate team members traveled together to Indianapolis for the Ben Davis Giant Invitational. The team easily won the tournament based upon some dominating individual performances.

Anekah Fish won in Dramatic Performance, an event that combines humorous and dramatic interpretation. Nathan Mullin (3rd) and Heidi Boltze (5th) also placed. Boltze was the champion in Poetry while Fish finished fourth.

Lily Roberts won the events of Prose and Program of Oral Interpretation. Fish (2nd), Rebecca Mueller (4th) and Anna Sanders (5th) all placed in Prose.

Indy Loving won the title for Original Oratory and was closely followed by Sanders (2nd), and Mueller (3rd).

Fish and Mueller finaled again in Informative Speaking, placing second and third respectfully. Mattea Sklut placed third in Extemp, third in Impromptu, and third in Broadcasting.

The Ben Davis event is the only tournament during the Indiana regular season to present individual all-around awards. Fish won the overall tournament; while Sklut (4th), Mueller (5th), and Roberts (8th) all received recognition.

Ethan Dibble and Ryan Donovan amassed a perfect record to win the Policy Debate division. Ben Hoham and Hattie Hoham (4th) and Mark Jewison and Milena Veltri (6th) also placed. Bella Auricchio was third place in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Emily Krygoske and Tim Wheeler came in third in Public Forum debate. Savannah Hutchinson came in sixth in Congressional debate and was named the outstanding presiding officer for the tournament; while Peyton Day was seventh.

The Ben Davis tournament is also unique for offering an elimination style format for both congress and speech. Advancing to semi-finals were Leah Rochford, Adam Royster, Grant Flesher, Chloee Ross, and Sam Evans. Students that advanced to quarterfinals included Miranda Miller and Hannah Anders.


Posted 1/6/2020




Search This Site:

Custom Search