Chesterton Tribune



Local schools earn 4star rating for 2013

Back To Front Page

The Indiana Department of Education released its list Monday of schools in the state who received a four-star status for 2013.

From the Duneland area, the list included Chesterton High School, Discovery Charter School and St. Patrick School.

In order to achieve this designation, a school must be in the top 25th percentile of schools in ISTEP+ testing results. A total of 313 schools received the award throughout the state.

Other four-star ratings given in Porter County included Valparaiso High School, Wheeler High School, Morgan Township Middle/High School, Hebron High School, Hebron Middle School, Union Township Middle School, Benjamin Franklin Middle School, Thomas Jefferson Elementary School, Central Elementary School, Memorial Elementary School, Northview Elementary School, Morgan Township Elementary School, Kouts Elementary School, and Washington Township Elementary School.

Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz congratulated these schools saying, I am honored to name these schools as our Four Star Schools for this year. Winning this award required excellent work by teachers, administrators, students and parents throughout the year and on behalf of the entire Indiana Department of Education I send them my sincere congratulations.

Posted 5/15/2013