Chesterton Tribune



CHS students continue tradition of honoring memory of 9/11 victims

Back To Front Page

September 11 there were 2,977 flags placed on the grass of Chesterton High School. Each flag carries the name of an individual who lost their life in the tragic attacks of September 11, 2001.

Additionally, a commemorative Flag of Honor, whose red and white strips are made up of the names of each victim of the three attacks, in front of all the individual flags.

Each of these students arrived at 5 a.m. to participate in the Flag Setting Memorial. For many this is their second, third or fourth year helping in this commemoration. The number of students participating has more than doubled from last year. This is the 12th consecutive year of this commemoration by CHS students.

The first Flag Setting commemoration was started by Kathleen O’Keefe, a CHS senior and charter member of the CHS Conservative Club. She was assisted by her sister Colleen O’Keefe, then a CHS freshman, and several other volunteers. Together they approached businesses and individuals to donate money for purchase of the flags and secured permission from school administration. Colleen continued the tradition thereafter, coordinating volunteers and working with the school planning the event.

Now their sister, CHS junior Kasey O’Keefe, has stepped up to coordinate this event, approaching students and faculty for volunteers, gaining administration permission and serving as public relations officer. Several volunteers have given their time and energy to this memorial including her sister, freshman Haley O’Keefe.

Students participating this year were John Achor, Tyler Babcock, Antwan Beeks, Avery Beeks, Mav Benoit, Alyssa Bowker, Josh Chorba, Danny Cutter, Niles Dilosa, Jordan Dilosa, Steffan Dines, Andrea Drugas, Grant Polkinghorn, Evan Gill, Tyler Gillespie, Sereen Haddadin, Jackson Heard, Haden Hinkle, Alex Katsafaros, Jonathan Kindmark, Brad McCord, Colin McEuen, Nate Michael, Dan Mochen, Greg Mochen, Matt Murfitt, Harry Nagra, Hayley O’Keefe, Kasey O’Keefe, Evan Pearson, Andrew Ralph, Xaundra Rodriguez, Ranbir Singh, Garritt Slatcoff, DaQwon Stewart, DaVielle Stewart, Mike Stopay, Bevku Thompson, Dionte Walker and Garrett Walker.


Posted 9/12/2013