Chesterton Tribune



Five more CHS seniors National Merit Scholarship winners

Back To Front Page


Five additional Chesterton High School seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship winners. The five students winning scholarships are Jenna M. Aguilar, Ryan J. Herr, Reagan E. Morton, Calvin J. Anders, and Xavier T. Pittman.

National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has announced over 3,300 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities.

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2020 competition to about 4,100.

This year, 167 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 92 private and 75 public institutions located in 43 states and the District of Columbia. College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners announced today are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,600 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $30 million.

Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2500 Scholarships. These additional five Chesterton High School National Merit Scholarship winners, announced on June 3, 2020, include:

Jenna M. Aguilar has received a college-sponsored Purdue University National Merit Scholarship in the area of Agricultural Engineering.

Ryan J. Herr has received a college-sponsored Purdue University National Merit Scholarship in the area of Mechanical Engineering.

Reagan E. Morton has received a college-sponsored Purdue University National Merit Scholarship in the area of Publishing.

Purdue University is a state-assisted university system with students on five campuses. Among the 25 largest colleges and universities in the nation, Purdue's West Lafayette campus enrollment exceeds 34,000. Undergraduate education at the West Lafayette campus is organized by academic schools: Agriculture; Consumer and Family Sciences; Education; Engineering; Liberal Arts; Management; Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences; Science; Technology; and Veterinary Medicine.

Calvin J. Anders has received a college-sponsored University of Alabama National Merit Scholarship in the probable area of Aerospace Engineering.

The University of Alabama offers over 150 undergraduate and 85 graduate majors through 12 divisions. A resident student body of some 18,000 comes from across the nation and over 60 foreign countries. The university has many innovative learning programs, a Law Center, a School of Mines and Energy Development, a College of Engineering, and a College of Commerce and Business Administration. Student activities center around some 300 organizations, including fraternal groups, student government, and service organizations.

Xavier T. Pittman has received a college-sponsored Indiana University Bloomington National Merit Scholarship in the area of Business Management.

Indiana University Bloomington, one of America's great teaching and research universities, is known worldwide for outstanding programs in the arts, business, sciences, humanities, social sciences, education, journalism, informatics, nursing, optometry, public and environmental affairs, health, physical education and recreation. Students bring diverse beliefs and backgrounds from all 50 states and 136 countries.

Time Magazine has recognized IU as having excellent programs to help students' transition to college.


Posted 6/4/2020





Search This Site:

Custom Search