Chesterton Tribune



Duneland students selected to exhibit at 42nd annual Porter County Arts-A-Budding

Back To Front Page


The 42nd annual Porter County Arts-A-Budding student art exhibit begins on March 4 and will continue until March 14 at the Chapel of the Resurrection, Valparaiso University Campus.

This exhibit is organized through volunteer efforts of the Porter County Visual Arts teachers and is sponsored by the Porter County Arts Commission in cooperation with the Bauer Museum of Art, Valparaiso University.

The exhibit brings together the best artwork produced by studentsí grades Kindergarten-8th in Porter County. Visual Art teachers from across Porter County selected the top 11 pieces artwork done by their students during the past year. The art works done by these students include various media such as drawing, painting, printmaking, fiber art, sculpture, pottery and computer graphics.

These honored students, along with their families and friends are invited to the opening award reception on Sunday, March 12, at 2:00 p.m. Students will be publicly recognized for their accomplishment by name and will receive a ribbon. Each year the talents and accomplishments of more than 400 participants are recognized. Arts-A-Budding gives Porter County students an opportunity to exhibit their artwork and be rewarded for artistic merit. Visiting hours are weekdays and Saturdays from 8 a.m.-6 p.m.; March 13 - March 15, from 8 a.m.-5 p.m., and Sunday from 1-5 p.m. Closed at 3 p.m. on Wednesday, March 11. Visitors must enter through Helge Center.

Duneland School Corporation students whose works will be exhibited are:

Bailly Elementary: Madison Buckley, Stella Foster, Aeson Horsch, Ria Kashyap, Karina Vasquez, Madalynn Nowinski, Keeley Tharp, Isabella Puglisi, Elyssa Martin, Camryn Kaufman, and Lizzy McGrogan.

Brummitt Elementary: Ahad Ali, Eshall Ali, Skye Rodriguez-Anderson, Payton Cezewski, Livia Costello, Elsie Crothers, Zoe Fraley, Sophia Higgins, Mia Kirkham, Lorelai Simmons, and Mac Smith.

Jackson Elementary: Suzanne Adent, Lilly Boyter, Mia Larimer, Caleb Liptak, Wolfgang Lutterman, Marley Mayer, Maeci Mullet, Rylei Mullet, Grayson Nagel, Carmen Stark, and Augustus Wisch.

Liberty Elementary: Katie Ailes, Adalicia Aures, R.J. Balda, Ella Boyanski, Braden Hills, Caden Koedyker, Tyler Payne, Han Phan, Lennon Phan, and Claire (Elizabeth) Vrahoretis.

Yost Elementary: Lucas Barbarossa, Kennedy Burkhart, Amelia Demeter, Claire Demeter, Brandon Jones, Kennedy Williamson, Margaret Maddex, Ewing Martin, Fiona Martin, Kaylin O'Daniel, and Sam Smith.

Liberty Intermediate School: Katie Billings, Bailey Christoff, Olyvia Clark, Lydia Comfort, Maximus Gardiner, Regan Krachinski, Ellen Rath, Saffy Shrum, Conner Smenyak, Ali Stringham, and Maizy Swanson.

Westchester Intermediate School: Savanah Hester, Abby Atrosh, Brianna Moore, Madelyn Russell, Lia Schnatz, Emmie McCready, Ava Komp, Anya Barbarosa, Brianna Sim, and Laela Dinkins.

Chesterton Middle School: Grade 7- Sydney Bruce, Kate Caracci, Bri Connors, Hannah Hall, Mollie Haughtington, Kailee Komisarcik, Melanie Konarski, Logan Moore, Nathan Osborn, Emily Richardson, and Stella Trent.

Grade 8 - Connor Casbon, Carter Casbon, Juliet Dinkins, Autmn Gilsinger, Grace Hannah, Lauren Kobialka, Lauren Konopacki, Sarah Lhotak, Conner Mathis, Morgan Smelley, and Marina Weinberg.

Duneland art teachers are Anne Long of Bailly Elem., Brooke Sutter of Brummitt Elem., Susan Calkusic of Jackson Elem., Aubrey Rose of Liberty Elem., Natalie Loden of Liberty Intermediate; and Jason Gast and Taylor Tice of Chesterton Middle.


Posted 3/2/2017




Search This Site:

Custom Search