Chesterton Tribune                                                                                   Adv.

Debaters finish regular season with championship

Back to Front Page


The Chesterton High School debate team finished its regular season with a team championship at the Plymouth Debate Tournament. Eighteen schools competed with over 300 individual entries.

Seniors Tyler Fabbri and Syed Shah were the tournament champions in Varsity Public Forum debate. Spencer Hadley and Luke Morgan (3rd), Tom Biel and Jordan Hoover (4th), Nikita Chawla and Kira Geairn (5th) all finished the regular season on high notes. In the novice division, Portia Engstrom and Sarah Moser came in third overall.

Chestertonís other individual championship came in Novice Policy debate where Chesterton had the top two finishers. Elaine Tagert and Cassidy Peretin were the champions while their teammates Mike Anderson and TJ Jaeger finished strongly as runners-up. In the Varsity division, Nicole Thompson and Jeff Tucker placed fifth.

Varsity Lincoln-Douglas saw senior Megan Adamczewski finish undefeated for a second place finish. Brandon Moore came in fifth overall.

Chesterton had its entire entry of contestants place in Congressional Debate. Liz Koch (6th), Hayley Trezzo (4th), and Dakota McCoy (2nd) all represented Chesterton at the awards ceremony.

In two weeks, Chesterton will attend the District Debate tournament at Concord High School. Lincoln-Douglas, Public Forum, and Policy Debate will all be competing to send its top students to the National Speech and Debate Tournament in Kansas City this summer.



Posted 1/18/2010




Custom Search