Chesterton Tribune


Debate team wins Carroll Tournament

Back to Front Page




Twenty-three Chesterton High School students spent their fall break competing at the Fort Wayne Carroll tournament this past weekend.

Although the tournament was considered small in comparison to most regular season tournaments, the results were largely in Chesterton’s favor. The team won the sweepstakes award for overall tournament success with a team score of 98 points, enough to outscore the combined efforts of every other team in the field.

Chesterton won the top spot in both divisions of Lincoln-Douglas debate. Eric Dreischerf won the varsity division with an undefeated performance. Christopher Krause was 4th overall in the division. Joy Joll led the novice division and finished with an unblemished record.

Varsity Policy was won by Elaine Tagert and Andrew Caratini; teammates Nadia Mario and Katherine Bolek were runners up. The 1 – 2 feat was repeated in the novice division with Sana Ahmad and Ayesha Khan in first place and Cayla Hartz and Teagan Nelson coming in second place.

Varsity Public Forum saw Christian O’Brien and Salman Lakhani (2nd), Matt Eggers and Savannah Tipton (3rd), Ronald Kovach and Jessica Ratel-Khan (4th), and Sarah Vavrek and Tia Peters (5th) all receive awards.

The Novice Public Forum division was won by Andi Kovach and Danny Cutter. Their teammates Eric Richardson and Nathan Burris came in second place.

Two Chesterton students tied for fourth place in Varsity Congress. Mikaela Meyers and Andrea Drygas shared the honors, while freshman Jordan Sweet came in eighth place in the novice division.


Posted 11/1/2012