Chesterton Tribune



Debate team passes key test at West Lafayette weekend tourney

Back To Front Page

The Chesterton Debate team competed over the weekend at the West Lafayette Debate tournament; marking the first opportunity for the team to face the defending champion West Lafayette team in competition. Chesterton took home a spot in the top three in nearly every event it entered, but no overall team sweepstakes award was given.

The Chesterton varsity Lincoln-Douglas team continued its string of strong performances. Junior Abby Burke was named the tournament champion and was the only competitor in a field of 30 to go undefeated.

Eric Zhong followed up his victory last week with a third place finish and a 4-1 record.

Senior Corinne Leopold came in sixth and sophomore Joy Joll rounded out the placing at eighth.

Chesterton also won the varsity Policy Debate division. Juniors Katherine Bolek and Nadia Mario complied a 3 Đ 1 record to take home the honor. The brother tandem of Zach and Colton Bogich came in sixth and Ayesha Khan and Katie Green received eighth.

Senior Mikaela Meyer came in third overall in Varsity Congressional Debate. This continues a string over the past three years of Meyer placing at every single Congressional tournament she’s competed in. Cami Glorioso came in eighth.

The Varsity Public Forum division was won by West Lafayette, but Chesterton had the highest number of finishers at the tournament with three. Nate Burris and Tyler Colvin came in third, followed by Jessica Ratel-Khan and Matt Eggers (5th) and Andrea Drygas and Nate Dickinson (6th).

In the novice division Hayden Hodge and Mark Wilcox were the runner’s up and were join by the team of Hunter Warren and Nate Scheerer who came in fourth.



Posted 10/30/2013