Chesterton Tribune



CMS and Jackson Elementary principals moving on

Back To Front Page



Chesterton Middle School Principal Michael Megyesi and Jackson Elementary Principal Dr. Linda Rugg have resigned, effective June 12, according to the Duneland School Corporation’s June personnel report.

Megyesi told the Chesterton Tribune he’s moving on to the Merrillville Community School Corporation, where he’ll be principal at Fieler Elementary.

“I’m from Merrilville, and I went to school there,” Megyesi said. “This is a great opportunity for me to give back to a community that has given me so much. I wouldn’t be where I am today without Merrillville Schools.”

Before coming to Duneland, Megyesi was assistant principal/athletic director at Washington Township Middle/High School for three years. He was hired as principal of CMS in 2012.

Megyesi said the staff, students, and community in Duneland have been incredible to work with. “I’ve learned a whole heck of a lot,” he said. “I’ll forever be grateful for what Duneland has done for me and my family.”

Megyesi extended thanks to the Duneland School Board; former Superintendents Dr. David Pruis, Dr. Dirk Baer, and Dr. Ginger Bolinger; current Interim Superintendent Judy Malasto; Assistant Superintendent Monte Moffet; CFO Lynn Kwilasz; and Director of Support Services Greg Lindy. “The whole central administration has been very supportive, and I’m going to miss working with them,” Megyesi said.

Rugg earned her Ph.D. in Educational Administration and Supervision from Purdue University. She was first hired at Duneland in 1974 and was a principal for the Michigan City Area Schools before returning to Duneland as Jackson’s principal in 2000, where she stayed for 19 years.

“I owe so much to Duneland Schools,” Rugg told the Tribune. “I had a long teaching career in Duneland that began at Jackson Elementary. It was so nice to be able to return to Jackson as the principal.”

Rugg said she’s beginning “a journey down a different path in education,” but she’s thankful for the expertise and knowledge gained, and she’ll cherish the memories she’s made, at Jackson.

“Jackson will always be in my heart. It is my neighborhood school,” Rugg said. “I am grateful for Duneland believing in me and providing me with the opportunity to teach and nurture young minds and to be a servant leader to so many amazing teachers and staff during my tenure here.”

Malasto took a moment at Monday’s School Board meeting to thank Rugg, Megyesi, and four other outgoing long-time Duneland staffers.

Malasto highlighted Monica Hargarten, who’s retiring after years of teaching first grade and kindergarten at Duneland; Mary Ann Martin, who’s retiring after teaching third grade at Liberty, fourth grade at Jackson, and FACS at CHS; and Brian Norris, who was well-loved as a fourth grade teacher at Jackson.

Monte Moffet, assistant superintendent for operations and human resources, is also retiring. Malasto said Moffet came to Duneland after being a principal at River Forest Schools and earned his EdS. from Indiana State University.

“We appreciate everything you’ve done and wish you well in your retirement,” Malasto said.

Superintendent Search

In addition, the search for Duneland’s new superintendent is coming to a close, according to School Board President Brandon Kroft.

The School Board will hold a public hearing at 8 a.m. Monday, June 17 at the Administration Center, 601 W. Morgan Avenue, Chesterton, where Dunelanders can weigh-in on the proposed terms of a new superintendent contract with a candidate who is yet to be named. The Board will vote on the contract at a public meeting at 8 a.m. Monday, June 24.

The proposed contract is public on the Duneland Schools website. Those interested can find it by hovering over the “Administration” tab and clicking on the “School Board” option in the drop-down menu.

The term of the contract is July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022 with a base annual salary of $147,500 for a 260-day work year. The proposed contract provides for a $6,000 annual car allowance and a $100 monthly technology stipend for a cell phone, and provides that the superintendent shall be eligible for a bonus of either $4,500 or $6,500 per year if he or she is rated either “effective” or “highly effective” in annual evaluations.

The proposed contract also provides that Duneland Schools will contribute $10,000 per year to the superintendent’s 401(a) retirement account and $5,000 per year to his or her VEBA account. Per the contract, Duneland Schools would also “pay all reasonable expenses” for the superintendent to attend conferences and to join professional organizations, provided the Board is given notice of the superintendent’s desire to do these things and approves the expenses in advance.

Other Personnel Changes

The Duneland School Board made the following additional personnel moves and approved summer school staff Monday.


--Robert Seiko, Project Lead the Way/engineering technology teacher at CHS

--Marissa Krutz, high ability aide for Duneland School Corporation

--Tommy Berry, assistant boys golf coach at CHS

--Patrick Ward, boys head golf coach and boys assistant golf coach at CHS

--Susan Calkusic, brush with the masters instructor at Brummitt Elementary

--Taylor Tice, art club at CMS


--Kathleen Gerber, fifth grade teacher at Westchester Intermediate

--Charles Brennan, industrial tech teacher at CHS

--Marie Gandy, DALC teacher at CHS

--Leigh Long, science teacher and 7th grade assistant girls track coach at CMS

--Maria Nuzzo, math teacher at CMS

--Shane Smith, math teacher at CHS

--Rebecca Boyd, media secretary at Yost Elementary

--Sarah Fratto, head cheerleading coach at CHS

Summer School

Jason Conway was appointed first grade teacher for summer school at Bailly Elementary and Mary Ann Martin will be an instructional aide during summer school at Bailly.

The following teachers are teaching summer school at CHS. Mark Peterson will teach Biology I. Mark Anderson will teach Health/PE. John Snyder, Jamie Anselm, and David Milligan will teach PE. Nick Bamber will teach PE and Math. Jennifer Jendrzejczyk, Anne Sharp, Michelle Wise, Jacob Lukach, and Charles Smith will teach English. Matt Gland and Christine Bullock will teach Government. Dale Hewitt, Matt Waters, Bryan Nallenweg, and Luke Starkey will teach Economics. Erin Cochran will teach Algebra I. Chris Hackett will teach Math/alternative school, and Shane Smith will be the alternative school sub.

Erin Cochran, Adam Tenbarge, Mark Skube, and Brian Hennigar will teach Bridges. Bob DeRuntz will teach Trailbound.

Robert Blumenthal, Kristen Peterson, and Dan Caudle will serve as summer school principals.



Posted 6/;6/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search