Chesterton Tribune



CHS wins Munster debate tourney

Back To Front Page

The Chesterton’s debate team won the Munster invitational by a score of 61 to West Lafayette’s 58 points. Chesterton was led by three event championships as well as a runner-up position.

The Public Forum team bounced back strong after a disappointing home meet last week.

Savannah Tipton and Eric Richardson won the varsity division while Victoria Bain and Hayden Biggs were first in the JV division.

Other teams placing in the varsity division were Jessica Ratel-Khan and Hannah Vasquez (6th), and Salman Lakhani and Matt Eggers (7th) to go along with JV finishers Andie Kovach and Kylie Surgot and Natalle Kezy and Nate Gowen (6th).

In the novice division, Mark Wilcox and Hayden Hodge came in third while Kevin Jugovic and Nate Scheerer came in eighth overall.

Chesterton also won the varsity Congressional Debate division with Andrew Caratini taking home the honors. Jordan Sweet came in eighth place. This was known as a particularly challenging tournament to compete in Congressional debate as the debaters needed to be prepared for all fourteen topics instead of the typical four topics selected by the tournament director.

Abby Burke followed up her win from last week with a second place finish this week. She was undefeated, but lost the tie breaker based upon overall speaker points. Katrina Balon placed sixth in the novice division.

Ayesha Khan and Katie Green led the way in the varsity division of policy debate with a fifth place finish followed by Kaley Brown and Emily Percefield who came in sixth.

At the novice level, Sam Gutierrez and Sajag Agarwal came in fourth, while Nate Poczekay and Fred Owens were seventh.



Posted 11/18/2013