Chesterton Tribune



CHS Trojan Guard Marching Band awards night honors members

Back To Front Page


The staff, students, and parents of the Chesterton High School Trojan Guard Marching Band celebrated the accomplishments of the groupís 2019 season by hosting their annual awards night at the school on Tuesday, February 11.

The awards program recognizes and rewards the individual efforts that are an integral part of the success of the Trojan Guard. In recent years, the band has placed high in the Indiana State School Music Associationís Scholastic State Marching Band Finals including a first place championship in 2013 and 2015. In addition to the presentation of individual and group awards, the evening always includes a slide show presentation, and a recording of the studentsí State performance so that the students and parents can look back on the many memories of their season. While this ceremony focuses on the 2019 season, members of the marching band know that it also signals the start of preparations for the new 2020 edition of the Trojan Guard.

On Thursday, February 20, the band will begin a series of monthly pre-season rehearsals that will include the addition of next yearís freshman class. Along with the new music that will be taught at these rehearsals, this is also the time when marching basics are introduced to each potential member, and the color guard students use the time to gain basic skills on their traditional equipment: rifles, flags, and sabers.

Members of the 2020 Trojan Guard include: Melanie Allison, Frank Augustyn, Katie Billings, Morgan Brookhouse, JD Browning, Caden Brum, Clayton Buckley, Colin Campbell, Nathaniel Carpentier, Paulina Chavez, Addison Cole, Emma Comfort, Lydia Comfort, Theresa Connors, Adam Davis, Giovanni DePasquale, Abbi Didonna, Gavin Dooley, Chloe Eash, Freedom Eiden-Buikema, Ethan Elliott-Halinski, Andrew Engel, Hannah Estridge, Thomas Fadell, Cormac Fallon, Anna Fletcher, Noah Fletcher, Emmie Fredrickson, Ryana Freeman, Caden French, Evelyn Gardiner, Tim Goldsberry, Brayden Gray, Max Grimley, Seamus Heneghan, Liam Heneghan, Daniel Herr, Ryan Herr, Max Houghteling, Harleah Hufstedler, Sam Jewett, Addison Kellogg, Evelyn Kelly, Carlie Kocoj, Megan Koster, Meagan Koutsopanagos, Grace Kozyra, Kara Lahaie, Adam Laughner, Olivia Lee, Abbey Leffert, Hailey Leohr, Olivia Lopez, Anya Loving, August Lovitz, Ellie Martz, Dexter Matthew, Dylan Mattson, Abby McCarthy, Troy McCormick, Peter McNicholas, Anthony Miskus, Brianna Moehl, Jackie Moehl, Haleigh Nelson, Lucy Novreske, Jimmy O'Connor, Abigail Palmer, Sophia Palmer, Skylar Peffers, Dominick Pilla, Jocelynn Ponce, Ellen Rath, Ariel Rodriguez, Benjamin Rutkowski, Gwen Sanders, Krystina Santiago, Alec Schmidt, Alyssa Schmidt, Roxanne Schwab, Danica Sessions, Carly Sparacio, Evan Sprang, Connor Stadler, Emerson Stobbe, Bowen Summer, Cody Tretter, Lilly Vaughan, Morgan Virden, Shayne Wassell, Adalyn Weitzel, Jennifer Whybrew, Bridget Wisdom, Alaina Wring, Chloe Wring, and Madison Wunderlin.

The Drum Majors are Abigail Palmer and Adam Davis.

The Trojan Guard is under the direction of Adam Bess, with assistance by Vincent Arizzi. Additional staff includes Kayla Hestermann - color guard director, Elliot Borg - percussion director, Miles Eaton & Matt Christensen - visual coordinators, Jeff Wroblewski - drill design.

For additional information regarding the Trojan Guard or any band activity, please contact the CHS Music Department at 983-3730.

Posted 2/13/2020




Search This Site:

Custom Search