Chesterton Tribune



CHS Speech team takes first at Ben Davis tourney

Back To Front Page


The CHS Speech team took top honors at the Ben Davis Giant Speakers Tournament, in Indianapolis, this past weekend CHS placed first out of the 21 schools attending and had five tournament champions. There were over 300 entries competing at the all varsity tournament, and the top 12 in each event were recognized at the awards ceremony.

Junior Allen Smith and seniors Josh Hogan and Logan Summers led the way placing first and second in their respective events. Smith was first in humorous interpretation and second in original performance. Hogan was second in humor and, along with his partner, Summers, took top honors in duo interpretation. Summers also placed second in dramatic interpretation.

Other tournament champions included seniors Katelyn Balakir in informative speaking and Ryan Day in extemporaneous speaking. Balakir also placed fifth in impromptu speaking. Both are debaters who have crossed over to speech now that debate season has ended. Fellow debater, senior Connor Wantuch, placed second in extemporaneous speaking.

The team’s final champion was sophomore AJ Stirling who won programmed oral interpretation (POI). AJ has won POI at every Indiana tournament he has attended thus far. Stirling also placed fifth in drama.

CHS had three other entries finish in second place. Senior Bryn Jackson placed second in original oratory and she and her partner, sophomore Anna Leady, were second in duo interpretation. Senior Paige Donovan took second in prose reading.

Freshman Rebecca Mueller, the team’s only freshman placing in two events, was third in informative speaking and fifth in prose reading.

Several other CHS entries placed in the top 12 and were recognized. Just missing finals and placing seventh were Owen Cowsert (10) in broadcasting, Amber Johnson (12) in humor, and Paige Donovan (12) in POI.

Also recognized were Payton Disney (9) ninth in discussion and Anekah Fish (10) tenth in discussion; Aaron Drew (12) ninth in broadcasting and Lily Roberts (9) tenth in drama. In addition, Megan Daye (12) and Sanjana Raj (9) were ninth and twelfth, respectively, in extemporaneous speaking, and Raj also placed ninth in impromptu.

Anna Leady was twelfth in oratory and fellow sophomore Max Winski was 11th in original performance. Leaha Estes (12) was eleventh in poetry and twelfth in prose, and freshman Mei Pantuso was eighth in POI.

“We set a goal of performing well here and trying to win in order to make a statement as defending state champs,” said Coach Becky Uehling. “The team really came through.”

CHS won with 221 points, followed by second place Munster with 174. Third place went to Noblesville with 120 points, fourth to Fishers with 106 points and fifth to Hamilton Southeastern with 71.

Coaches Uehling, Eric Schaefer, and Josh Coots got judging help from several parents and former students. Parents included Becky Summers, Claire Mueller, Jim Vincent, and Michael Fish. Former team members Natalie Beglin and Hayden Hodge also judged.


Posted 2/5/2018




Search This Site:

Custom Search