Chesterton Tribune



CHS Speech and Debate wins National School of Honor Award

Back To Front Page


The Chesterton High School Speech and Debate team finished the national tournament in Dallas with its Debate squad winning a ‘school of honor’ award. The award is given to the schools based upon the number of elimination rounds competed in. The Honor division covers school ranked 21-40 in the nation. Although official ranking are never released, Chesterton was near the top of the honor division, as schools with one further round of competition made it into the Excellence division.

Three debate entries were able to qualify for the elimination rounds, thus scoring ‘team points.’ Eric Zhong (LD debate) advanced the furthest by making it to the 10th round of the 15 round competition. He was joined by his teammate, Abby Burke, for nearly the entire journey, until she was knocked out in the 9th round of competition. Although placing outside of the top 14 are unofficial, Zhong placed somewhere between 30 - 45th in the nation. Chesterton’s other qualifier for elimination rounds was the Public Forum team of Matt Eggers and Nathan Burris (9th round). The rest of the debate team was comprised of Andrea Drygas (Congressional), Hannah Geiss (Congressional), Savannah Tipton (Public Forum), Eric Richardson (Public Forum), Tim Vincent (Policy), Joel Peterson (Policy), Nate Poczekay (Policy), and Fred Owens (Policy).

The Speech portion of the team had a number of individual performances across their main events and their supplemental/consolation events. Carley Lowe was the lone ‘Speechie’ to break in the main events. After the conclusion of her octafinal rounds of competition, Lowe was tied for the next cut and unfortunately lost on judges preference/reciprocal fractions. Lowe went on to compete in Prose and was able to make it round 7, which was top 45 in the competition. Ayesha Khan made it to round 6 in Prose, an event which started with 350+ entries.

Izzy Portugal made it the furthest in Storytelling, all the way to the Semifinal round of competition before finally dropping. This was her first time competing in the event, as Indiana doesn’t compete during the season in Storytelling and her performance placed her somewhere in the top 20 in the Nation.

Other members of the Speech squad included, Galen Wong (Oratory), Lexi Justak (Humor), Sam Lee (Duo), Emily Coleman (Duo), Connor Wantuch (Extemp), Hayden Hodge (Extemp).

The team was accompanied by coaches Chris Lowery, Bob Kelly, Josh Coots, Kirsten Reed, Kayla Fleming, Eric Shaefer as well as judges Eric Dreischerf, Dakota McCoy, Jessica Ratel-Khan, James Vincent, and Bob Billick.



Posted 6/24/2015




Search This Site:

Custom Search