Chesterton Tribune



CHS speakers win LaPorte Invite

Back To Front Page


The Chesterton High School speech team finished its regular season with a win at the LaPorte Speech Invitational. CHS won by just two points over sectional rival Munster, setting the stage for this weekend’s IHSFA Sectional Tournament at Valparaiso High School. Fourteen schools with over 300 entries competed in the all varsity tournament. The top eight speakers in each event were recognized at the awards ceremony.

The team was led by three tournament champions, all of whom have joined the speech side of the program now that debate season has ended. Seniors Hannah Geiss, Megan Daye and Katelyn Balakir took top honors. Geiss was the tournament champion in discussion, Daye won international extemporaneous speaking, and Balakir placed first in impromptu speaking. Balakir also finished third in informative speaking.

The team’s strongest event for the day was broadcasting, where they took four of the top eight places. Senior Aaron Drew led the way with a second place finish, followed by senior Zack Mullins in third, and sophomores Emily Krygoske and Owen Cowsert in fifth and sixth, respectively.

CHS took the top three spots in international extemporaneous speaking. Following Daye was sophomore Nick Hanson in second, and senior Connor Wantuch in third. The team also placed three in programmed oral interpretation. Sophomore A.J. Stirling finished in second, followed by sophomore Mei Pantuso in seventh and senior Paige Donovan in eighth. Stirling also placed second in dramatic interpretation and Paige Donovan placed second in prose reading.

In duo interpretation the team finished second and third. Seniors Josh Hogan and Logan Summers were second and sophomores Max Winski and Indy Loving placed third. Summers also finished seventh in drama, as did Hogan in humor. In addition, Max Winski took second place in original performance.

Seniors Leaha Estes and Amber Johnson were third and fourth, respectively, in poetry; freshman Rebecca Mueller finished eighth in informative, and sophomore Anekah Fish placed eighth in discussion.

“This was definitely a team effort,” said Coach Eric Schaefer. “This is exactly the kind of effort we’re looking for at the sectional tournament next weekend.”

CHS won with 106 points, followed by Munster with 104. Third place went to Plymouth High School with 67 points, taking third on a tie-breaker ahead of Culver Academies, also with 67 points. Concord High School finished in fifth with 36 points.

Coaches Schaefer, Chris Lowery, Josh Coots, Bob Kelly, Dakota McCoy and Sam Lee got judging help from several parents. Judges included Barbara Black, Kristin Pruitt, Sherry Balakir and Cindy Lutes.


Posted 2/21/2018





Search This Site:

Custom Search