Chesterton Tribune



CHS Sandpipers second at Show Choir Invite

Back To Front Page

This past Saturday the Chesterton High School Sandpipers, under the direction of Kristin Morris, competed at the 23rd annual Southmont High School Show Choir Invitational in Crawfordsville, Indiana.

The Sandpipers were among twelve mixed groups competing for a spot in the final rounds and took home first runner-up (second place) honors. The group battled back from a fourth place ranking in the preliminary rounds and broke a tie with Northrop in the final rounds by having a higher overall vocal score.

Senior Brian Lesnick was named Outstanding Performer and the CHS Show Choir Band, under the direction of Nick Cross, was recognized for their musical excellence. Other members noted for their performance were seniors Jill Malecki, Aby Matthys and Lindsey Curdes, as well as sophomore Sean Puent.

The 2013-2014 Sandpipers show features songs about freedom. Soloists include freshman Nate Sorenson, sophomores Sean Puent and Diva Bridegroom, and seniors Brian Lesnick and Aby Matthys.

“This year’s group has shown tremendous vocal growth and the senior members have really stepped up as leaders. It was exciting to see them achieve a second place finish because of their dedication and commitment to quality singing,” Morris said. “I am extremely proud of them and the progress they have made in such a short time.”

Senior Ben Westergren said, “I was really proud of how our group stepped up into finals and was both shocked and excited when they announced that we won the tie breaker with our vocal score.”

Sandpipers members are Diva Bridegroom, Lizzy Chandler, Lindsey Curdes, Nicole Flores, Tanner Fowler, Lauren Gilbertsen, Jenny Haggerty, Jessica Huseman, Zach Kronwitter-Nelson, Wyatt Lee, Brian Lesnick, Jill Malecki, Aby Matthys, Jake Merryman, Kyle Paliga, Sean Puent, Nikki Roberts, Oscar Rodriguez, Andrew Roth, Matt Rotundo, Nate Sorenson, Audrey Stelzer, Amethyst Szubryt, Taylor Troop, Amanda Waltz, Trevor Webb, Ben Westergren, Jake Williger, Ellyn Winski and Kendall Wright. Band members are Belle Chandler, Charlie Cross, Nick Cross, Alyssa Garriot, Rowan Holsen, Olivia Kaiser, Mike Lipinski, Jackson Lucken, Kara Miecznikowski, Mitch Pearson and Accompanist Gina Jones.


Posted 11/12/2013