Chesterton Tribune



CHS qualifies three debaters for National Tournament in June

Back To Front Page


Chesterton took three of the four available spots for the National Tournament in June. The first of three qualification tournaments occurred in Congressional Debate. In this event, students debate and attempt to pass legislation. Topics at this tournament included net neutrality, taxing artificial intelligence, prison reform, an independent Kurdistan state, replacing abstinence education in public schools, and reinstating the federal Fiduciary Rule for the Department of Labor. Students debated for over six hours in front of six judges who independently ranked the student competitors. The top two competitors in each chamber of competition qualify for the National Tournament. The upper chamber of debate, the Senate, involved competitors from 10 different schools in the Northeast Indiana district.

Creighton Gaff was able to finish in second place, a position which qualifies him for the NSDA National Tournament. The top spot was taken by Jason Collins, from Canterbury High School in Fort Wayne.

Chesterton’s second senator was Megan Daye, who finished in third place in the chamber. The lower chamber of debate, the House of Representatives was dominated by Chesterton. Just like U.S. politics, the number of competitors allowed in the House depends upon the size of the program. Because CHS is one of the 30 largest programs in the country it is allowed to enter 12 contestants into this chamber. Also unlike the Senate, the House ‘breaks’ into a final round after the initial preliminary bills are completed. Chesterton was able to qualify 10 students to the final round of 16 students. Chesterton took both qualification spots in the House.

Sid Augustyn was named the tournament champion with a total ranking of five from the panel of three judges (the lowest score possible is three). Paul Petro had a total rank of six and came in second place to earn the second qualification spot. Also in the House, Zachary Mullins (3rd), Connor Wanutch (4th), and Sanjana Raj (5th) all placed and received awards.

Emily Krygoske was named outstanding Presiding Officer of the final round chamber. Also breaking to the final round of the House were CHS contestants Azeez Lakhani, Nick Hanson, Finn Babjak, and Shae Hisaw. Also competing from Chesterton in the House were Branden Wong and Ian Quinn.

This will be the third consecutive national tournament for seniors Gaff and Petro. Petro’s qualifications have all come via the House of Representatives. This is Gaff’s second consecutive time qualifying in the Senate, as a sophomore he qualified in Domestic Extemporaneous speaking. Augustyn, the youngest of the bunch, is a sophomore and this is his first time qualifying for the national tournament. The CHS Congressional Debate team is coached by social studies teacher Joshua Coots.

The next chance for the team to qualify more individuals is this weekend as the events of Policy, Public Forum, and Lincoln-Douglas debate hold their qualifying events.


Posted 1/18/2018




Search This Site:

Custom Search