Chesterton Tribune



CHS journalism awards and Quill and Scroll induction held

Back To Front Page

The Chesterton High School Student Press presented its annual Quill & Scroll induction and publications awards dinner for 81 attendees on the evening of Wednesday, May 22, at the Westchester Public Library’s Service Center.

English teacher/Sandscript advisor and Quill & Scroll sponsor John Hayduk and English teacher/Singing Sands advisor Bill Caulton presented the 30th annual W.R. Canright Outstanding Senior Journalist Award to Micheala Sosby of the Sandscript.

The two advisors also presented the 13th annual Kathryn Elizabeth Pokorny Student Press Memorial scholarships to Spencer Gordon and Jennifer Williams of the Sandscript, who will attend the University of Notre Dame and Indiana University, respectively, and to Singing Sands' Katherine Haggerty, who also will attend Indiana University.

Gregory Mochen and Katelynn Williams of the Sandscript were presented with a summer workshop partial grants to the Indiana University High School Journalism Institute in Bloomington by Hayduk.

Also honored were new and current members of the Kathryn Elizabeth Pokorny Chapter of the International Honorary Society of High School Journalists (Quill & Scroll) and other staff members of the Sandscript, Singing Sands, and WDSO-FM.

Quill & Scroll inducted five new members and recognized twelve current members during a candlelit ceremony emceed by president April Spenny of the Sandscript and secretary Katherine Haggerty of Singing Sands, assisted by Spencer Gordon, Micheala Sosby, and Jennifer Williams of the Sandscript; Dayna Gallo and Katherine Smith of Singing Sands; and William Atherton of WDSO-FM.

Those inducted from the Sandscript included Adriana Cavlovic, Lauren Lecy, Gregory Mochen, and Daniel Vincent, and from Singing Sands, Whitney Schreiber.

Receiving updated pins were Spencer Gordon, Micheala Sosby, April Spenny, and Jennifer Willams of the Sandscript, and Jessica Ciesielski, Dayna Gallo, Katherine Haggerty, Angelica Knopick, Sydney Sharpe, Katherine Smith, Natalie Richardson, and Paige Vlietstra of Singing Sands.

Senior members receiving honor certificates included Spencer Gordon, Micheala Sosby, April Spenny, and Jennifer Williams of the Sandscript; Dayna Gallo and Katherine Haggerty of Singing Sands; and William Atherton of WDSO-FM. For devoting eight or more semesters of their high school careers to their media, Atherton, Gordon, Sosby, Spenny, and Williams also received honor cords to wear at commencement.

Outgoing-CHS assistant principal Kevin Zeck and outgoing-Duneland School Corporation superintendent Dr. Dirk Baer were recognized with special testimonial scrolls for their support of student journalism and the writing arts.

After dinner, service certificates and major awards for Singing Sands and the Sandscript were presented by Caulton and Hayduk, respectively.

For Singing Sands, Katherine Smith was named most-valuable staffer.

Receiving outstanding in-class honors from Singing Sands were Ashlee Dennis, outstanding sophomore; Sydney Sharpe and Paige Vlietstra, outstanding juniors; and Katherine Haggerty, outstanding senior.

Among other Singing Sands staffers honored were Dayna Gallo, Commitment to Quality Award; Kaitlin Wilkie, Eagerness to Learn Award; Angelica Knopick, Leadership Award; Emily Marcus, Positive Attitude Award; Jessica Ciesielski, Staff Unity Award; and Kassidy Scott and Brianna Stephan, rookies of the year.

Jennifer Williams of the Sandscript received the South Bend Tribune Most-Valuable Newspaper Staffer Award; she, along with other Michiana high school journalists, will be featured in the Tribune in June.

Receiving outstanding-in-class honors from the Sandscript were Katelynn Williams, outstanding freshman; Lauren Lecy, outstanding sophomore; Michael Stapay, outstanding junior; and Micheala Sosby, outstanding senior.

Among other Sandscript staffers honored were Katelynn Williams, best cub reporter; Adriana Cavlovic, best new staffer; Micheala Sosby and Jennifer Willliams, most-committed staffers; Carlos Martinez, most-improved staffer; Micheala Sosby, most-professional staffer; and Kaliegh Quick and April Spenny, “Outside the Box” awards.

For producing quality work in an unassuming manner, the Sandscript's Gregory Mochen, Brianna Nelson, and Daniel Vincent received Subtle Quality awards. For spending notable time before and after school working on their publication, Lauren Lecy, Kayla Joseph, and Jennifer Williams of the Sandscript received Midnight Oil awards.

Editors-in-chief for the 2013-14 newspaper and yearbook were announced. Lauren Lecy will be EIC for the Sandscript, while Katherine Smith will be EIC for Singing Sands.

Technology teacher Matthew Waters is station manager of WDSO-FM and sponsor of CSN.




Posted 5/23/2013