Chesterton Tribune



CHS debaters win 5 events at home tourney

Back To Front Page


Jonathan Carr, a Fulbright scholar at the London School of Economics published a study in 2002 that detailed how ‘a single debate tournament requires written work tantamount to two research papers, including revisions.’ By that standard, the 194 Indiana students from 12 schools that competed at the Chesterton Debate Tournament on Saturday wrote the equivalent of nearly 400 research papers. Chesterton High School debaters emerged victorious in five of the nine events.

CHS swept the Lincoln-Douglas debate category with Bella Auricchio compiling a 5-1 record to carry the varsity division. Emma Replin earned a perfect 6-0 to win the novice division. Elia Livovich (3rd), Ian Quinn (4th), and Nathan Osborn (6th) also took home awards in varsity. Joining Replin on stage at the novice level were Jonathan Dickens in sixth and Josh Hoover in eighth.

The Lincoln-Douglas resolution for this tournament was “The United States ought to end the subsidization of fossil fuels in the United States.” While placings are first determined based upon who wins the debate round, the CHS tournament also hands out speaker awards for how well an individual has performed as a public speaker. Auricchio was again the top speaker at the varsity level; while Livovich was third. Replin was the third-place speaker in the novice division and Gretta Burke came in sixth.

The team also swept both divisions of Public Forum debate, an event that once again argued whether the benefits of U.S. offensive cyber operations have outweighed the costs. Emily Krygoske and Trinity Irving overcame an early loss to finish 5-1 and place as varsity champions. Chloe Vanderline and Avery McCurdy were the top team in the novice division. This was the first tournament win this year for Irving, Vanderline and McCurdy. The teams of Alexis Ioannidis and Sidney Pittman (5th) and Sam Burris and Luke Vetroczky (7th) also placed in varsity, while Jackson Jessen and Saanya Agarwal (3rd), and Evan Cowsert and Zander Fish (4th), and Atmikha Jeeju and Sarah Sahli (5th) all placed in novice. Krygoske was the second-best public speaker in varsity and Agarwal (3rd), Jessen (4th), Jeeju (5th) all received speaker recognition.

Policy debate continues its yearlong topic regarding U.S. arms sales. Mark Jewison and Milena Veltri were the tournament runners-up in the varsity division, followed by their teammates Ben Hoham and Hattie Hoham (3rd), Gianna Galante and Madi Simms (4th), and Brian Hanson and Riste Miroski (7th).

Megan Nowka and Riley Hawksworth were undefeated 4-0 and finished as runners-up at the novice level. Jonathon McClure and Josh Fieffer were fourth.

Jewison was the top varsity speaker and was followed by Ben Hoham (3rd) and Simms (5th). Hawksworth was the third best speaker in the novice division.

Congressional debaters dealt with issues regarding martial law, ISIS, UK free trade agreements, the Cuban embargo, and eminent domain. Sid Augustyn was fourth overall on the judge’s ballots.

Chesterton offers the James Cavallo Leadership Gavel, a student voted on award for the strongest debater according to the students. Augustyn came in third for the award which went to Munster’s Cynthia Chocklingham. Finn Babjak, from Chesterton, finished in 7th while Ethan Kroft made the final round in the upper chamber. Savannah Hutchinson won the competition in the lower varsity chamber. Adam Royster finished third in novice Congress, his highest finish to date. Leah Rochford (4th) and Grant Flesher (8th) also placed.


Posted 11/12/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search