Chesterton Tribune



CHS Debate wins national tourney spots

Back To Front Page

The weather postponed one of the events, but couldnít stop Chesterton from taking three of four available qualifying spots to the National Tournament this June.

Juniors Abby Burke and Eric Zhong outlasted all other competitors to claim the qualifying spots in Lincoln-Douglas debate; while the team of Matt Eggers and Salman Lakhani were the only undefeated team in Public Forum debate.

This will be the first trip to nationals for Eggers and Zhong. Lakhani previously qualified in Public Forum two years ago, while Burke qualified in Congressional debate last year.

The weather forced a postponement of Policy debate, the longest event and the event that Chesterton has dominated in recent history. The tournament is expected to still be held, potentially on February 15th, where Chesterton will in all likelihood qualify two more teams to the tournament.

The district tournament limits a teamís entries to 4 per event and Chesterton is situated in the Northeast Indiana District; a district that currently only has two other schools that primarily focus on debate over speech. Chesterton dominated the Lincoln-Douglas division, with all four entries closing out the final round. Corinne Leopold was named the first alternate and Don Reinert was officially the second alternate.

The Public Forum division went back and forth between Chesterton and Carroll High School (Fort Wayne); making it no surprise that the two schools split the spots to nationals. Savannah Tipton and Eric Zhong were the first alternates; while the teams of Jessica Ratel-Khan/Hannah Vasquez and Tyler Colvin/Nate Burris received awards each in the top 5 overall. Chesterton was awarded the team Sweepstakes Award for the best overall team at the tournament.

The State debate tournament is to be held this Friday at Ben Davis High School in Indianapolis. Chesterton will be represented across four debate events by 25 students. The Lincoln-Douglas team is coached jointly by Shane Smith and Carol Biel, while the Public Forum team is coached by Chris Lowery.



Posted 1/28/2014