Chesterton Tribune



CHS Debate victorious in first meet

Back To Front Page

Chesterton took home three of the four varsity individual event championships in its first outing of the season. The team traveled on Saturday to Penn High School. The tournament featured 12 other northern Indiana schools. No team sweepstakes award was given. The Lincoln-Douglas entry was particularly dominant as the four LD students took the first four spots. Eric Zhong was the tournament champion, followed by teammates Chris Krause, Corinne Leopold, and Abby Burke. In the novice division, Cara Kroeger was ninth overall.

Chesterton’s second individual title was in varsity Congressional debate. Mikaela Meyer took the blue ribbon, Jordan Sweet was fourth and JP Pritchard was eighth overall.

Chesterton won the varsity and novice divisions of Public Forum debate. Salman Lakhani and Matt Eggers won the varsity division, while Mark Wilcox and Hayden Hodge were the top novices. Savannah Tipton and Eric Richardson (3rd) and Nate Dickinson and Andrea Drygas (6th) also placed in the varsity division. For the second week in a row, the novice Public Forum division had a Chesterton theme. Hunter Warren and Nate Scheerer (3rd), Kevin Jugovic and Johny Mario (6th), and Lennon Metz and Nicki Achor (8th) rounded out the division.

The policy division was won by Penn High School, but Chesterton finished well. Nadia Mario and Katherine Bolek were the tournament runners-up, Kaley Brown and Emily Percifield were fourth overall. In the novice division, Liz Bolek and Sajag Agarwal came in sixth place.

The coaching staff was extremely pleased with how the varsity performed at their first tournament.

“You always think that you are prepared, but doubt always creeps in before that first tournament. Our kids came out prepared and excited for the opportunities that this year presents and the results reflected that preparation,” said Coach Chris Lowery.


Posted 10/22/2013